Printer Advice

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by adam044, Feb 20, 2013.

1. macrumors 65816

adam044

Looking to get a new printer because my old one is old and inefficient. I only get about 200 pages before I have to buy $50-$60 worth of ink the cost of a new printer almost. So heres what I'm looking for:

under $100
    able to print many pages without having to buy ink
    AirPrint would be nice but not needed

Im not going to be printing picture or anything like that mostly text documents and projects as I'm a college student. Thanks

2. macrumors 65816

Have a look at the HP OfficeJet Pro 8500A.

3. macrumors 65816

SmurfBoxMasta

Alhtough I am not a big fan of HP's inkjets, I have learned over the years that they are the bomb for Laserjets....having used them in business since the 90's, where the demands on them far exceed that of most home users, they are the way to go IMHO for strictly B&W text printing....

If you wanna save some $$, look for a used/refurb LJ1200/1250/1300....

4. macrumors 65816

designs216

I would recommend looking at the ratings at ConsumerReports. They not only rate the printers by performance, they'll tell you which ones give the cheapest per print cost. I ended up buying the HP OJP 8600, which wasn't the cheapest but has a very low per print cost.

Interestingly enough, from a pure dollars standpoint, it's cheaper to buy a new ink jet printer rather than simultaneously replace all the cartridges...

5. macrumors 6502

mooblie

6. macrumors newbie

I second the officejet 8600, I had to do a report for work and found that the 8600 had one of the lowest cost per page on the market. I got one recently from bestbuy for $150 on sale. So far I love it! great quality, duplex, and does airprint/ePrint with ease. Use it with my ipad, macs and HTC Rezound

7. macrumors 68040

Giuly

8. macrumors 68040