Printer problem...

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Mr. E, Nov 15, 2005.

1. Mr. E macrumors newbie

Hi,

I recently bought an iMac G5 and along with it, I bought an HP Deskjet 6540 printer. I bought that particular printer from the Apple Store (online) along w/ my computer. I figured a peripheral from the Apple Store itself...should work good w/ OSX Tiger on my iMacG5.

Well...It actually DOES work pretty darned good. It couldn't've been easier to set-up & the print quality is great.

...But it does have one little quirk. When I use the "print both sides" command...it doesn't do it. It seems to kind of like...try (it will print what should have been the 'back' upside-down--but on a new sheet of paper instead of the same one).

I am not a big expert on computers...maybe this is just a driver program thing that can only be fixed w/ a software update or something like that, but if anybody knows a possible fix for my problem...I should would appreciate hearing it. Thanx a lot!

2. Gee macrumors 65816

I'm not an expert on that particular model of printer, but in most home printers, if you print double sided, you have to put the sheet of paper back into the printer the other way up after it has printed the first page - they usually don't have all the cogs and wheels necessary to flip the sheet themselves.

3. emw macrumors G4

emw

To print two-sided automatically on that printer, you need to have the "duplexing" accessory, which is a $80 or so optional piece of equipment that snaps onto the back of the printer.

To do it manually, you'll need to, I think, print the first page, then insert the page you printed upside down into the paper feed, and print the back.

Here's a link to the HP site that describes the accessory.

4. Mr. E thread starter macrumors newbie

Oh cool. Exactly the info I needed. Major thanx emw! --You saved me a lot of time on hold calling Apple. ;)

hehe!...maybe you are a "demi-god" at that. :D

5. Mr. E thread starter macrumors newbie