Printing problem - O/S 8.6

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by woopie49, May 18, 2006.

  1. woopie49 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    #1
    I bought an old PowerPC 8500 from eBay in excellent condition with a clean install of 8.6 on it (no other software) Everything works fine except for printing. I have hooked up an old QMS 860 A3 postscript laser printer and an Apple colour SW 1500 using phoneNET connection. The 2 printers do not show up in Chooser.

    LaserWriter 8, QMS 860 and SW1500 drivers are loaded, AppleTalk is on, background printing is off.
    The 8500 will talk to the printers when I open up Printer Utility (thru both the printer and modem ports) to make desktop printers, but when the printer configuration icons are on the desktop and I drop something on it to print, a dialog box comes up and says use Chooser to select the printer, but no icons in Chooser except AppleShare.

    Side note 1 - In the Printer Utility dialog the "Current Port" comes up as Unknown.
    Side note 2 - I also installed an old HD into the 8500 with 7.5.5 loaded on it and have no problems printing

    What have I forgotten to do in 8.6 ?

    I would definitely appreciate any advice/input - thank youPrinting problem
     
  2. ahunter3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    #2
    No printer drivers, then.

    A Mac should show printers on the left-hand pane of the Chooser even if no such printers are physically attached.

    You probably want the Apple LaserWriter 8 driver, as it works for most AppleTalk PostScript printers.

    Screenshot: this computer does not have a StyleWriter 1200 or an Epson SP 700 attached (for that matter no phone lines either); it's the presence of the drivers in the Extensions folder that make them appear on the list.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. supremedesigner macrumors 6502a

    supremedesigner

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Location:
    Gainesville, Fl
    #3
    OMG!! !!one!11 eleven! !! :eek:

    OS 8?! Wa da foo is wrong wif you??
     
  4. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    Nothing at all(?). We did have printing in Mac OS 8 days you know.
     
  5. woopie49 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    #5
    Thanks for your replys guys, still trying, I'll do a clean install of 8.6 later today and start from scratch.

    Will post again on progress
     
  6. ahunter3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    #6

    I'd post a reply to you from my System 6.0.8 LC, but MacWeb isn't ready for vBulletin.

    (Actually it's not ready for much of anything on today's web, although the Info-mac archives mirror page will load)

    But it can print to the LaserJet printer down the hall :)

    It can also mount the SunOS file server's AppleShare fileserver volume on its 19-year-old Desktop. And open the TIFFS (slowly) in greyscale in Photoshop 1.0 :)
     
  7. woopie49 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    #7
    Problem solved, re-zapped PRAM 4 times, did a clean install to suit the 8500 from an G3 install disk.
    Maybe OpenTransport or Serial Built-In didn't load properly before, don't know, but any way, I'm up and printing with the QMS and the SW1500.
    The printer drivers were loaded before because I physically changed the one's loaded and turned them on (including one for the QMS) when they didn't show up in Chooser.

    Thank you

    Next question - another post
     
  8. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #8
    I hope you didn't pay much for that 8500. It was the very first Mac I ever owned and I was head over heels for that machine for a long time, but it is VERY old at this point. So, how much did you pay for it including taxes, shipping, etc.?
     
  9. supremedesigner macrumors 6502a

    supremedesigner

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Location:
    Gainesville, Fl
    #9
    Photoshop 1.0?! Can you send me snapshot of that screen? :)
     
  10. ahunter3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    #10

    :)

    It was originally installed on an SE, so I think it lacks color files that it might have had if I'd installed it to a color Mac like the LC originally. As it stands, it changes the colorspace of the display to greyscale on launch, and only displays images in greyscale.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page