PRO 3D Card for G5?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by lem0nayde, Dec 30, 2003.

1. lem0nayde macrumors regular

Hey everyone. I've been fooling around with Carrara, learning some 3d. I have used the program on my crappy PC at work and at home on my G5 - and strangely, I've found little difference in the rendering times.

What kind of card does a person need to get if they want fast furious rendering of 3D graphics (not games, but homemade scenes and animations.)?

I'm new to the 3D scene, from what I understand the major pro vendors for 3d cards don't have anything for Mac.

Has there been any progress on this situation? Has anyone announced a product?

Thanks,
    Joe

2. yamabushi macrumors 65816

yamabushi

The top of the line general use consumer cards from nVIDIA and ATI each use chipsets very similar to their professional 3D cards. The drivers they use for each tend to be considerably different however and there is enough difference in hardware to notice a a difference in performance when pushed to the limit. The best card currently available for the G5 is the BTO ATI Radeon 9800 Pro. This card will perform far better than the 9600 but not quite as well as a true pro 3D card. Still, with a dual G5 and plenty of RAM in your system the 9800 Pro should perform adequately enough for professional 3D applications.

The stupid ADC connector really makes porting a graphics card over more difficult than it needs to be. While you can still use a DVI card on a Mac, Apple doesn't want to sell DVI only cards. This discourages development of Mac versions of each card. If Apple were to abandon ADC more cards might get ported over since they would then only need a new driver and Apple would be more likely to sell their card as a BTO option. Writing drivers is no small task to be sure, but much easier than modifiying both software AND hardware for the Mac.

3. arogge macrumors 65816

arogge

4. yamabushi macrumors 65816

yamabushi