problem connecting to the internet with ethernet

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by applegump, Apr 7, 2006.

  1. applegump macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    #1
    Hi,
    I can't connect to the internet over a LAN with my iBook using ethernet. The problem is that after about an hour of configuring and reconfiguring yesterday I got it to work. This morning when I started my iBook I could no longer connect. The internet connection should work because the other computers (all XP) on the network have an internet connection.
    Currently, under network status (using manual IP etc) I have a green light but I cant connect to the internet! Using DCHP automatic, I only get a yellow light. Yesterday it was with DCHP auto that the connection worked.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. Dale Cooper macrumors regular

    Dale Cooper

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    #2
    Me too

    I have problems connectiong through ethernet too, except the network status on my iBook shows only red lights...

    Help would be much appreciated.
     
  3. blodwyn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #3
    This is a big topic, and you don't give any info about your setup(s).

    Assuming you have the right type of ethernet cable (Dale, you should check whether you have a crossover/non-crossover).......

    Most routers will give out IP addresses in the 192.168.1.xxx (typical for Linksys) or 192.168.0.xxx (typical for DLink) ranges. It depends on which make of router you have what the default is.

    Depending on which router you have, try setting the IP address of your Mac manually to an address in the range it gives out, say 192.168.0.234 which works with my DLink, and enter the address of the router as the gateway address - my DLink default is 192.168.0.1. This will bypass any DHCP related problems temporarily and should give you a link with a green light in your network settings, although you might not get working web pages without entering DNS server addresses. Once you have a green light, you can re-enable DHCP and it should be OK from there.

    Sometimes it seems the subnet mask gets in the way of Systems seeing the router, and manually setting the IP address to it's subnet (the 0 or the 1 in the above router addresses) and then re-enabling DHCP has worked for me.
     
  4. Dale Cooper macrumors regular

    Dale Cooper

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    #4
    This did at least help me...

    Thanks a lot, blodwyn!
     
  5. blodwyn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #5
    You're very welcome :)
     
  6. applegump thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    #6
    I still cant get websites to come up. I can get the green light by manually entering the IP address, the subnet mask and the router.
    When I go from manual to DHCP and press apply, I get the orange light (the IP address and subnet mask change). Going form manual to DHCP and pressing renew doesnt work either.

    blodwyn, where do I get DNS addresses for my network?
    The strange thing is that I got it to work once, but only once.

    Thanks for the help

    BTW Im running 10.3.9
     

Share This Page