Problem cut from word paste into Quark

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by jamesdean888, Apr 28, 2005.

  1. jamesdean888 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    #1
    I hope someone can help....

    i have recently joined the Mac fraternity and am having a proble with word and quark.... i imagine there is a perfectly simple answer.

    I seem to be unable to copy text from word and paste it into Quark files.

    When trying to Paste into a text box within a quark file i get the 'ping' sound as it fails to paste.

    I am able to cut and paste text from word into other files but not Quark

    Any ideas
     
  2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #2
    What versions of Word, Quark & OS X are you using?

    Can you paste into TextEdit documents?

    Can you 'Get Text' OK into the text-box? Apple-E
     
  3. jamesdean888 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    #3
    sywtem details

    Thanks for the reply

    Its quark 6
    imag G5
    unsure of the word version
    Mac os X 10.3

    Yes i can paste into the text edit program
    Yes i can 'get text' - but that transfers the whole doc into the text box, not selcted parts

    ???
     
  4. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #4
    Weird.

    You do have the content tool selected when you try to paste, don't you?
    Just checking... :)

    What about resaving the Word document as a plain text file and trying that?

    BTW: I recommend installing the Quark 6.1 & 6.5 updater.
     
  5. jamesdean888 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    #5
    Keep trying

    The problems dont appear to be with the word file....

    I will continue to rack my brains, but thanks for the ideas
     
  6. RAS admin macrumors regular

    RAS admin

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Location:
    Berkshires, Mass.
    #6
    Pretty sure you need to be running at least Quark 6.1 for Panther 10.3.
     
  7. jamesdean888 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    #7
    yep that might be the problem...


    ill see how it is once updated, thanks
     
  8. jamesdean888 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    #8
    Thanks

    Thank you to those who offered me advice...

    You were right, quark 6 didnt seem to work properly with os x 10.3

    once upgraded to quark 6.5 all is going swimmingly

    cheers :)
     
  9. Sparky's macrumors 6502a

    Sparky's

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    #9
    James, Im not sure what the exact process you used in trying to "Import" text into Quark, but I have never had a problem by (first) creating a text box in Quark then (second) choosing cmnd+e (Get text) while the text box was selected, then format it as necessary.

    For any further assistance in DTP I suggest www.prepressforums.com

    good luck
     
  10. narco macrumors 65816

    narco

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    California.
    #10
    I also had this problem. I had to copy text from word, open a new Safari page and paste the text on the URL bar, select that and copy it before pasting it into Quark. I figured that I don't copy/paste into Quark that often so I'll just let it slide, but when you have to do a long, drawn out process for a relatively simple operation, you begin to notice how frequently you actually need to do it.

    Luckily, 6.5 fixed this problem, amongst a sheeeeiiiitload of other problems. Like, who's idea was it to remove the double-click-image-pop-up-window thing? I use that all the time to update images or locate them in the finder. What a dumb move.

    Fishes,
    narco.
     
  11. Philippejp78 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #11
    well

    ok, but what if, someone does not have 6.5 and needs to work on quark and word?

    ive run into this problem before and i dont remember how i fixed it. but i did fix it ;[ and now im clueless and i cant seem to fix it while i need to work on something. anyone have any ideas or know-how ?
     
  12. MikeBrooks806 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    #12
    For bigger cut and pastes

    I'm having the same problem (also Quark 6 in OSX). To get around it, I've been saving the text that I want to paste into a separate Word doc, then in Quark, with my cursor placed where I want to paste, I use the "Get Text" function from the File menu, and click on the new Word file that contains only the text that I want to paste. A hassle, but if you don't do it a lot, and you don't want to deal with the Quark Nazis, it works just fine.
     

Share This Page