Problem cut from word paste into Quark

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by jamesdean888, Apr 28, 2005.

  1. jamesdean888 macrumors newbie

    Apr 28, 2005
    I hope someone can help....

    i have recently joined the Mac fraternity and am having a proble with word and quark.... i imagine there is a perfectly simple answer.

    I seem to be unable to copy text from word and paste it into Quark files.

    When trying to Paste into a text box within a quark file i get the 'ping' sound as it fails to paste.

    I am able to cut and paste text from word into other files but not Quark

    Any ideas
  2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Jul 4, 2004
    What versions of Word, Quark & OS X are you using?

    Can you paste into TextEdit documents?

    Can you 'Get Text' OK into the text-box? Apple-E
  3. jamesdean888 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Apr 28, 2005
    sywtem details

    Thanks for the reply

    Its quark 6
    imag G5
    unsure of the word version
    Mac os X 10.3

    Yes i can paste into the text edit program
    Yes i can 'get text' - but that transfers the whole doc into the text box, not selcted parts

  4. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Jul 4, 2004

    You do have the content tool selected when you try to paste, don't you?
    Just checking... :)

    What about resaving the Word document as a plain text file and trying that?

    BTW: I recommend installing the Quark 6.1 & 6.5 updater.
  5. jamesdean888 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Apr 28, 2005
    Keep trying

    The problems dont appear to be with the word file....

    I will continue to rack my brains, but thanks for the ideas
  6. RAS admin macrumors regular

    RAS admin

    Sep 4, 2004
    Berkshires, Mass.
    Pretty sure you need to be running at least Quark 6.1 for Panther 10.3.
  7. jamesdean888 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Apr 28, 2005
    yep that might be the problem...

    ill see how it is once updated, thanks
  8. jamesdean888 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Apr 28, 2005

    Thank you to those who offered me advice...

    You were right, quark 6 didnt seem to work properly with os x 10.3

    once upgraded to quark 6.5 all is going swimmingly

    cheers :)
  9. Sparky's macrumors 6502a


    Feb 11, 2004
    James, Im not sure what the exact process you used in trying to "Import" text into Quark, but I have never had a problem by (first) creating a text box in Quark then (second) choosing cmnd+e (Get text) while the text box was selected, then format it as necessary.

    For any further assistance in DTP I suggest

    good luck
  10. narco macrumors 65816


    Dec 9, 2003
    I also had this problem. I had to copy text from word, open a new Safari page and paste the text on the URL bar, select that and copy it before pasting it into Quark. I figured that I don't copy/paste into Quark that often so I'll just let it slide, but when you have to do a long, drawn out process for a relatively simple operation, you begin to notice how frequently you actually need to do it.

    Luckily, 6.5 fixed this problem, amongst a sheeeeiiiitload of other problems. Like, who's idea was it to remove the double-click-image-pop-up-window thing? I use that all the time to update images or locate them in the finder. What a dumb move.

  11. Philippejp78 macrumors newbie

    Feb 1, 2006

    ok, but what if, someone does not have 6.5 and needs to work on quark and word?

    ive run into this problem before and i dont remember how i fixed it. but i did fix it ;[ and now im clueless and i cant seem to fix it while i need to work on something. anyone have any ideas or know-how ?
  12. MikeBrooks806 macrumors newbie

    Mar 9, 2006
    For bigger cut and pastes

    I'm having the same problem (also Quark 6 in OSX). To get around it, I've been saving the text that I want to paste into a separate Word doc, then in Quark, with my cursor placed where I want to paste, I use the "Get Text" function from the File menu, and click on the new Word file that contains only the text that I want to paste. A hassle, but if you don't do it a lot, and you don't want to deal with the Quark Nazis, it works just fine.

Share This Page