Problem Installing RAM in my G4 Power Mac

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by margie684, Oct 30, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Location:
    Preston
    #1
    Hey, ive got a Power Mac G4 400MHz with 384Mb RAM.

    The RAM is 2 Sticks of 128Mb and 2 Sticks of 64Mb.

    I had looked it put on the internet and checked the crucial website and i found that i needed a stick of 512Mb the was SDRAM PC133 168 Pin Non-ECC Un-buffered.

    I baught this RAM installed it and it is saying that the slot that it istalled in is empty, ive tried it in the rest of the slots and all say there is nothing there, is there something i am doing wrong, and help would be appreciated. :D

    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #2
    The RAM you bought is not compatible with Apple computer. If it was cheap, it's not the correct ram. I ordered 2 512MB sticks that I thought would work as well for like $20 shipped. But it needs to say it's compatible with Apple computers, otherwise it's probably not. One 512MB stick that works on Macs is usually around $30 on ebay if I remember correctly.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #3
    Did you buy high-density memory? Also you have a 100mhz bus but I'm pretty sure the 133mhz memory should automatically downclock to 100mhz so that shouldn't be a problem. I'd take that memory back.

    I have 2 sticks of 128mb that you can have.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #4
    Have you tried using just that one stick of 512 RAM without any other sticks in there to see if it works by itself?

    I've had some issues mixing PC100 and PC133 sticks in the G4s and especially when trying to use it with 64MB sticks. If it works by itself, add one stick of 128 at a time to see if it works as you add.

    I have a 450MhZ G4 and just put in two additional sticks of this to match the two 512MB Kingston Apple PC100 sticks in there and it recognizes all 2GB.

    Micron Model MT16LSDT6464AG-10EB1 PC100 SDRAM 168 Pin CL2
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Location:
    Preston
    #5
    Would you want anything for the two sticks of 128Mb? it would be greatly appreciated :D Thanks
     
  6. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #6
    Just shipping costs...
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Location:
    Preston
    #7
    How much you think that would be to the UK? Thanks :D
     

Share This Page