Problem installing Tiger

Discussion in 'macOS' started by KevRC4130, Aug 24, 2005.

  1. KevRC4130 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #1
    I've been trying to install Tiger from DVD, and it's been giving me some issues. I pop it in, and the icon appears. I click the icon and I get the folder with everything. When I click the Install Tiger icon, I get the screen that asks me for my password, and the restarts the computer. After restarting my computer, I expect an installer to come up, but nothing does. This is where it hits a wall. I don't know what to do at this point... A friend suggested that I try copying all of the icons/apps from the DVD's folder on to the desktop, which I've tried, and it still doesn't do anything. Does anybody have any suggestions?

    Thanks

    P.S. My machine is well qualified to run Tiger, it's a Rev C Powerbook with 1.25gb of RAM and Superdrive, currently running Panther...
     
  2. Manzana macrumors 6502a

    Manzana

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #2
    first thing...make sure you have backups.

    next i would try booting up from the tiger dvd by holding c.
     
  3. KevRC4130 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #3
    I tried holding C... still nothing. Something did pop up, but it closed just a quick. I think all it was was the contents of the DVD, as if I had clicked it. Any other ideas?

    Thanks
     
  4. fartheststar macrumors 6502a

    fartheststar

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #4
    Try repairing permissions, and flushing the PRAM before you re-install. Whenever I've had something quirky with my system this helps.

    Also - What about putting in tiger (while you're system is running your current OS), doing a "Systems Preferences" and changing the start up disk to the DVD drive? I know it should do it automatically with "C" and all that junk, just a thought.
     
  5. KevRC4130 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #5

    How do I flush the PRAM? This is responsible for all of my settings, correct? If I flush this, will all of my settings go away?

    Anyways thanks for the help, I'm going to try again after repairing permissions.
     
  6. DeSnousa macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #6
  7. Amae32 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    #7
    Same Problem!

    I don't know why but I have the EXACT same problem. After clicking restart it restarts but nothing new happens...I just go in circles.

    Any help is appreciated!
     
  8. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    Reboot, and hold Option at the tone. You should get a list of bootable drives. Click the Tiger DVD, then click the arrow, and hopefully it'll boot from the DVD.
     

Share This Page