problem receiving calls with Talkatone

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by psywzrd, Jun 26, 2011.

  1. psywzrd, Jun 26, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2011

    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #1
    I installed Talkatone on my iphone 4 (jailbroken but I don't know if that even matters) and I'm having trouble with incoming calls. I set up everything correctly as far as I know, but I can't seem to figure out how to answer the incoming call. I do get a notification of the incoming call on my lockscreen in LockInfo, but there's no way for me to actually answer the call. If I swipe to unlock, I'm simply taken to the homescreen and tapping on the notification in LockInfo does nothing. Am I doing something wrong?
     
  2. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #2
    Ok guys - I figured out the problem with answering incoming calls but I have another problem now and I'm hoping someone can help me with it. I am not getting any sort of ringtone on incoming calls via Talkatone. I've tried both a custom ringtone and one of the standard ringtones and nothing seems to work. When I get a call, I get the notification on my lockscreen in lockinfo, my phone vibrates twice very briefly and then the screen shuts off (and no my phone isn't in vibrate mode). I figured that maybe popup blocker was the problem so I allowed popups from Talkatone and tried again. Now I get the push notification popup telling me that I have an incoming call but all I hear is the tri-tone (or whatever it's called) instead of my ringtone. I can't help but think that my problem is somehow related to Lockinfo and/or Popup Blocker but I'm not sure how to fix it. Anyone?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #3
    Anyone? I can't be the only person trying to use Talkatone with lockinfo and popup blocker, right?
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    #4
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    #5
    You're not the only one - just had this issue today.

    When I tap to switch to the app, it doesn't give me an option to answer or reject the call.

    Is there a way to selectively allow talkatone to popup as a workaround?

    I love LockInfo & this is a bit of a showstopper!
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #6
    You can exclude Talkatone's pop-ups from being blocked in PopupBlocker's settings.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    #7
    I looked on Cydia and PopupBlocker is a different tweak - did you install with along with LockInfo?

    I'm evaluating LockInfo along with Notified Pro.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    #8
    installing the Popup Blocker tweak did the trick.

    while I was a bit lost in regards to what to turn on/off on NotifiedPro and LockInfo - I eventually got it to work.

    Is there anyone out there who's put a cheatsheet in regards to how they've best configured Notified Pro, LockInfo and Popup Blocker together by chance?

    this would be very helpful to us newbies!
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #9
    incoming call problem

    Hello prywzrd,

    I hope you see this. You said you fixed the problem of incoming calls, ie no popups for answering calls. I also have a jailbroken iphone 4.

    If you dont mind, how did you fix the problem? thanks
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #10
    Try installing popup blocker and excluding Talkatone's popups from being blocked - that's what did the trick for me.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #11
    Thanks. Just so we're on the same page, when you had the incoming call problem, did you get the incoming call popup when talkatone was in the foreground? I get the popup when talkatone is open but only get notification and no way to answer when it's in teh background.

    Talkatone faq mentions that jailbroken devices may cause talkatone to not work when it's in background...and in their blog, a Talkatone tech said that it is probably a mobile substrate issue which someone said they fixed by going to SBSettings and disabling the Alertblocker mobile substrate addon there. BUt I don't see it in SBSettings.

    Is this basically what your solution does?

    So once Popupblocker is installed, it automatically detects Talkatone and gives you option to exclude it from being blocked?

    Sorry for being so longwinded and thanks
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #12
    I honestly don't remember if I got the popup when talkatone was in the foreground. All I know is that when my phone was locked and a call would come in, I would only see a notification within Lockinfo. Once I installed popup blocker and turned push notifications on for talkatone, I received a popup notification and was able to answer the call by unlocking the phone. If the phone is already unlocked you get a popup with "Close" and "Answer" buttons.

    I still have the problem where my phone doesn't always ring even though Talkatone is in the multitasking bar. It must be a problem with the app (I'm running the latest version too).
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    #13
    PopupBlocker is what did the trick for me too.

    yeah - i still have this issue as well. I don't think Talkatone is a particularly well-written app. I'm a the point where I'm wondering if I would more reliably receive GV calls if I forwarded my calls to a paid SkypeIn number - has anyone tried this by chance?
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #14
    I can't answer that question for you but what I can tell you is that if this solution requires you to keep the Skype app in your multi-tasking bar, it will drain the pi$$ out of your battery.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    #15
    Hi dear. I have the same issue recieving calls on talkatone. I saw ur techniques but may I please ask what pop up blocker u unstalled and where on ur phone or conputer???
     
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #16
    im in mexico. Signed up with talkatone and make calls to usa phone number and see i have 10 free minutes. I used up all of it almost.


    However... how do you receive calls with talkatone? That is free right? Its just calls to others that cost money?
     

Share This Page