Problem restoring from time machine

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by someone28624, Apr 16, 2009.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #1
    As you may have read in other threads, I upgraded my hard drive today with plans to restore from Time Machine. I left for class with the restore on a screen that asked me to select which items I want to restore (everything). When I left, it said it was calculating the size of the transfer. The transfer button was grayed out. When I came back 6 hrs later, it was still calculating. What on earth is going on?
     
  2. macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    Are you booted from the install disk and accessing Time Machine for the restore?

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #3
    Right
     
  4. macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #4
    I would restart and try again
    It shouldn't take near that long to calculate size

    Is your new HD formatted and ready to go?
    Sorry to ask obvious questions

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #5
    Yes. The OS is already installed. It gave me the option to install from TM, and that's where we are hung up.
     
  6. macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    Then I would definitely restart and try to restore again
    No need to keep waiting at this point

    My understanding is that you should boot from the DVD and access TM and restore from there

    It shouldn't take that long to begin the restore
    Now, the restore itself may take a few hours depending on how big it is

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     

Share This Page