Problem: Websites Need Multiple Refreshes to Load

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by dotnina, Oct 28, 2004.

  1. dotnina macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    #1
    I've been having this problem for a few days now: when I try to access any of a number of sites, I receive a message almost immediately saying that the page could not load. However, when I click refresh once or twice, the page loads. This is happening with about 60% of the sites I visit.

    Here's some background info, if it's relevant: my PB is on a wireless firewalled network with two Windows machines. I checked the log for the wireless router and we had two "pings of death" 10 days ago, which apparently can cause packets within a network to be dropped. However, we've had no pings of death since then, and the behavior has only been going on for 5 days anyway.

    Any thoughts or suggestions? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. russed macrumors 68000

    russed

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    have you tried trashing the preference file for the browser you use. do a search for the browser name and there will be a file ending in .plist. delete it and see if that works. it might do!
     
  3. rdowns Suspended

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #3
    Are you on Time Warner? Internet has been very slow in NYC area for the past 2 days. Try resetting your cable modem, if you have one. That did the trick for me.
     
  4. dotnina thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    #4
    Thanks guys, I'll try these today and let you know!

    I'm on Yahoo DSL ... it's been pretty reliable, which is why I'm trying to find a problem at the computer-level first. I took another look at the router log, and it seems that a computer somehow joined our wireless network this past week, even though we have a firewall and only allow our own computers' MAC addresses. I don't know if that might be related to our internet problems, so I'm going to do some more digging around today.
     
  5. syniac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Location:
    Europe
  6. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #6
    I have this happen *only* with quote.yahoo.com. Every other site I go to loads the first time. I've always attributed it to a DNS issue of some sort.
     
  7. blackpeter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    #7
    Relief! It's not just me.

    I've been using a group of tabbed bookmarks that I visit daily for over a year now and in the last few days, one of the bookmarks won't load until I hit the reload button. Then I noticed it was happening at other sites. This problem is intermittent, and sometimes pages will load with the first try. However, it's been happening enough that I know something is up.

    I, too, am behind a firewall and have been for a while now. I'll trash my Safari prefs and monitor the situation.
     
  8. x86isslow macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    its been happening to links for me in firefox. i'll click say, on a macbytes link, and it will tell me that the page can't be loaded.
     
  9. EMKoper macrumors regular

    EMKoper

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Location:
    Stafford, VA
    #9
    Same here...

    My wife was complaining of this on our PowerBook using Safari... like a good husband, I didn't immediately believe her (probably user error, right?). Anyway, I then noticed the behavior on my PowerMac using Safari as well. Both have been updated with the latest updates on 28 Oct...

    2004-10-28 19:14:42 -0700: Installed "iTunes" (4.7)
    2004-10-28 19:17:37 -0700: Installed "QuickTime" (6.5.2)
    2004-10-28 19:17:42 -0700: Installed "Security Update 2004-10-27" (1.0)

    Ruled out the router and ISP since FireFox on the PC is OK.

    Edit: Just did the standard, trashed the prefs and repaired permissions and no change in behavior.
     
  10. stylum macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    Location:
    SoCal
    #10
    Same here

    3 macs here, just mine with same symptoms and same updates
    :confused:
     
  11. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #11
    As I said above, my impression has always been that this is really a subtle DNS issue, rather than a bug in Safari, per se. It's just that Safari makes the problem very noticeable. I *think* it has something to do with the way the site publishes their DNS records. In the end, who knows? I don't think it's a big enough problem for Apple to prioritize it.
     

Share This Page