Problem with ibook installing tiger

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by elisha cuthbert, May 28, 2006.

  1. elisha cuthbert macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #1
    Ok so i thought i would reinstall tiger for maintanance issues and when i am running the installation when it comes up to the verifying the destination volume and i look at the install log it says that there is an incorrect number of thread counts. What the hell is happening, i am pannicing because i have my laptop going into a service centre this week for the battery but this has never happened before
    please help me ASAP
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  3. elisha cuthbert thread starter macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #3
    tried, didnt fix it
    btu on teh kinda good side of things i called my apple service centre and they said that if i brought it in tomorrow they would havea look at it and try and fix it (fingers crossed) anyway thanks for trying mad jew
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Did fsck pick up any errors or make any repairs? If it did, you have to continue running it until it makes no changes.

    Meh, I guess it doesn't matter if you're taking to Apple tomorrow anyway. Good luck. :)
     
  5. elisha cuthbert thread starter macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #5
    brought it to my local service centre and its in for service now (fingers crossed they fix it)
    and at present they are letting me use one of their powermac G5's im so happy i can actually do all my work and email everthing i have to without going to a pc
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    That's nice of them. How does it compare to your iBook G5? :p
     
  7. elisha cuthbert thread starter macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #7
    well considering that mine was only a 933mhz G5 and this one is Dual 2Ghz G5 and that mine has 640mb Ram and this has 1.5GB this one kicks the **** out of mine
     
  8. MUCKYFINGERS macrumors 6502a

    MUCKYFINGERS

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Location:
    CA
    #8
    i think you're missing the sarcasm...

    there is no such thing as an ibook g5.
     
  9. elisha cuthbert thread starter macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #9
    (clap clap clap)
    wel done we finally got a thinker
    yes my ibook is called an ibook g5 because i named it as ibook g5 in sharing so i could "borrow" my neigbours wireless internet every now and then, but yea there is really no such thing as an ibook G5
     

Share This Page