problem with java being blocked

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Apple souce, Jan 11, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #1
    im running the latest version of mountain lion and I went and installed the latest java (for the first time on a new mac),but when trying to show java on a website it says "blocked plug-in" even thought I have java enabled in safari and in java control panel. When i click on "blocked plug-in" it tells me that my version of java is out of date and gives me a button which links back to the exact same page where I downloaded java in the first place.

    Ive tried refreashing, restarting safari, restarting mac, software update, re-installing java and non of this is working.

    Ive searched around the web and it seems that most people had problems when lion came out because java was disabled by default. But this isnt the case, as it just keeps linking me to download a newer version of java even if i have the latest version.
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #2
    check the front page. Apple blocks it because there is a huge security issue.
     
  3. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #3
    The front page article doesn't explain how to re-enable it.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    #4
    I have the same issue, I just logged on to post about it but then saw this thread. I can't book the cinema tickets I'm supposed to take care of, can't log into my internet bank, it's totally annoying :mad:
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
  6. macrumors demi-god

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #6
    I have disabled the plugin in Firefox and System Preferences as a precaution. It is currently showing the warning in FF.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Location:
    Blandford, UK.
    #7
    There is a solution on page 4 of the front page story to re-enable the Java 7 plugin.

    I have it now working again, but you must remember your system is less secure. But no less secure than it has been for weeks/months.
     
  8. LPZ, Jan 11, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2013

    LPZ
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
  9. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #9
    That's true, but neither does your post.

    A workaround is to install Chrome or maybe some other browser, where one can enable or disable Java manually, instead of being at the merits of what Apple considers safe to do.
     
  10. LPZ
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #10
    Not Chrome. It's a 32-bit application and is incompatible with Oracle's 64-bit java plugin.

    Firefox would serve.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    Thailand
    #11
    Java news article...

    In a rare warning, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security is urging computer users to disable the Java software, citing what it says is a vulnerability in the Oracle's programming platform.

    Apple said it is heeding the advice and has remotely disabled Java for most Mac users.

    "Java 7 Update 10 and earlier contain an unspecified vulnerability that can allow a remote, unauthenticated attacker to execute arbitrary code on a vulnerable system," the Homeland Security's Computer Emergency Readiness Team said in a note posted Thursday. "We are currently unaware of a practical solution to this problem."

    According to Reuters, the vulnerability makes it possible for hackers to install malware that enables them to commit identify-theft crimes or add infected computers to networks that can be used for cyber attacks.


    Link to article:

    http://www.latimes.com/business/tec...d-security-20130111,0,6103875.story?track=rss
     

Share This Page