Problem with Mac Office 2004 saving

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by M3CL, Nov 16, 2006.

  1. M3CL macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #1
    Hi

    I was working with Word 2004 today on my Macbook Pro 15" and went to save to my HD. I got a message saying there was a problem writing to "Macintosh HD" because it was full. It said to shut down other programs and windows. In Word, it wouldn't let me save, save as (renaming), and even auto-recover save would not work. I restarted and the error message has not appeared since.

    My HD is NOT full. It says I have ~92 GB free.
    My Office 2004 software is up to date.

    Any ideas on why this happened?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #2

    I've run into this bug a few times. Are you using Headers and Footers? The problem is something to do with Word running out of temp space.

    I googled it and found a solution but the solution doesn't work for me. The way I solve the problem is this. Select the whole document, copy it to clipboard, close down word. Open up word and paste the clipboard contents to a blank document and save.
     
  3. M3CL thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #3
    I did have a good 2-3 pages of math equations from Equation Editor which I don't have installed within my Office version yet. I'm going to install when I get a chance. Maybe that caused a problem?

    And where was the solution to this? Or what keywords did you search. I didn't find anything.
     
  4. blodwyn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #4
    Sounds like this bug may still be around in some format or another.
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    I had someone with the exact same problem. Try saving it as an .rtf instead of .doc.

    Yeah weird huh? Math equations and all too!
     
  6. coastertux macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    #6
    It's a bug with the math equations. Just try not to copy and paste a lot when using the equations. That seems to have worked for me.
     

Share This Page