Problem with mid-installation of 10.4. Disc 2 is missing - What to do??

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by eleventhree, Dec 5, 2005.

  1. eleventhree macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    #1
    Hey guys, I seem to have gotten myself into quite a little unfavorable situation. My computer was going through some irregularities so I decided to reinstall the OS. I popped in my Mac OS X 10.4 Disc 1 disc and proceeded. I later found out that my Disc 2 was no where to be found, and that my computer would remain at a standstill until I find Disc 2. So I tried to use the one Tiger DVD that came with my other Mac, but that didn't work.

    Is there anything I can do? My girlfriend has Mac OS X 10.4.2 Disc 1 & 2; would the Disc 2 of 10.4.2 work with my current re-installment of 10.4?

    And lastly, do you think I could bring my Mac to the Apple Store and see if they have a corresponding disc, so that I may finish installing the OS?

    If you guys/gals have any advice or thoughts, they are very much welcomed


    Thanks.
     
  2. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #2
    Disc 1 should have the Core OS on it.. or at least it did with 10.2 and 10.3. If you select none of the other options (printer drivers, xcode, etc...) you should be able to install OS X + BSD subsystem with only disc 1.
     
  3. budugu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3


    As the earlier post said base system is on disk , disck 2 general mac osx 9 and stuff. Anyway you can boot from DVD and then use the disk utilities from the instal menus to wipe the disk and reinstall. (May be a reboot after you make some changes to the HD)
     
  4. DanielNTX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #4
    After putting a new HD in my iBook and reinstalling OS X 10.4.2 - iBook edition, I can tell you disc 2 is required and cannot be bypassed.
     
  5. adam-uk macrumors member

    adam-uk

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Location:
    England, UK
    #5
    yeah, when your installing tiger I think its mandatory to insert disc 2. Cannot apple send replacement discs?
     

Share This Page