Problem with my wireless network

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by mike dunx, Jan 31, 2007.

  1. mike dunx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Location:
    Central FL
    #1
    I recently set up a home network with the Netgear WRT54G wireless router. I have it connected to my modem, and then my pc and two xbox's are connected to its LAN ports. I was able to access the internet from my ibook, but after 20 minutes or so it disconnected and ever since it's been really hard to actually get back online. It's been showing almost full bars in the airport meter, but i can only actually get online for a few minutes at a time.
     
  2. Reflow macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #2
    Sounds like your router is going. Have you called Netgear on your problem?
     
  3. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #3
    Yeah, that same thing happened to me on two of three Netgear routers within a few months. I eventually confirmed it was the router, and that's why I don't buy Netgear anymore.
     
  4. mike dunx thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Location:
    Central FL
    #4
    This is brand new. I haven't called them yet.
     
  5. Reflow macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #5

    I would return it to the store you bought it from then
     
  6. mike dunx thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Location:
    Central FL
    #6
    So it's definitely a problem with the router itself?
     
  7. Reflow macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #7
    Do you have another place you can test your laptop at. Just to make sure it works. Like starbucks etc.
     
  8. mike dunx thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Location:
    Central FL
    #8
    I've used it at a lot of different wifi hotspots before and never had any problems. The only difference here is that i have the router set up with security, and i have to type a long list of characters and numbers everytime i want to connect to the router. I think the problem may be related to that. I can't figure out how to disable my security though, on the router.
     
  9. Reflow macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #9

    The instructions should be on page 35 on the pdf on the first link. Here
     
  10. Teh Don Ditty macrumors G4

    Teh Don Ditty

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #10
    Did you recently install the AirPort extreme update?
     
  11. mike dunx thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Location:
    Central FL
    #11
    I don't have airport extreme, just airport.

    I disabled all the security. . and it seems to be working..
     
  12. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #12
    That's the same problem I had with my Netgears. With any security enabled, be it WEP, WPA, or even MAC address filtering, the connection would be flaky as hell. They were both pieces of junk, and if they wouldn't operate with security then they were worthless to me. I bought a couple Linksys routers and haven't had any problems at all.
     
  13. Teh Don Ditty macrumors G4

    Teh Don Ditty

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #13
    Ok, there goes my theory. Now you don't have any security.... I would take that back and exchange for a different brand.

    Edit: beaten to the punch by mrogers. I thought he was dead :) Sorry, I couldn't resist.
     
  14. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #14
    mrogers, not mrrogers ;) It's my name. But people always see what they want to see, I suppose...people usually write my forum name as mrrogers more often than not. Fred was a great guy though...I was fascinated by his fish :D

    OP: good luck with the router. Let us know what you ultimately do with it.
     
  15. Teh Don Ditty macrumors G4

    Teh Don Ditty

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #15
    I forgot what that's called when you read something (your name for example) and you see it as something else. Too lazy to google it lol.

    As for Mr. Rogers, one of the best shows in TV history (in regards to children's programming)
     
  16. redmeister macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    #16
    yea its really random i donno why that happens. mine had issues with linksys routers and my friend had issues with a netgear router... makes no sense to me

    you'd think it would be an airport problem then but noooo always seems to be a router problem. maybe just compatibility issues?
     
  17. mike dunx thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Location:
    Central FL
    #17
    yea, security isn't all that important to me, so i'm just gonna use it as it is. thanks for the help though
     

Share This Page