Problem with network in OS X

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by beez7777, Aug 22, 2002.

  1. beez7777 macrumors 6502a

    beez7777

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Location:
    Notre Dame
    #1
    I just bought a 17" iMac (three hours ago, in fact) and I already have a problem. I have a SpeedStream Router, model 2614 however it can't detect my cable modem, so I am using it as a hub, with the WAN cable in LAN port 1 and my iMac in port 2. When in OS X I am unable to connect to the internet, but I have an IP Address (by the way I configured it to use DHCP), however in OS 9 it works perfectly. I upgraded to Jaguar in an attempt to get it to work. If anyone knows how to fix this, I would appreciate it:) :)
     
  2. peterjhill macrumors 65816

    peterjhill

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    Open a terminal window (Applications -> utilities -> terminal.app)

    Then type in the following (or copy/paste)

    netstat -rn
    ifconfig -a


    Then copy/paste the results from the terminal window into a reply to this thread. That should give enough information to start to troubleshoot your problem.
     
  3. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #3
    i can only suggest that you make sure you have a web safe router. but if it works in OS 9.... i don't know.:confused: :rolleyes:
     
  4. evildead macrumors 65816

    evildead

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Location:
    WestCost, USA
    #4
    router

    You said that OS X is configed to do DHCP.. Is the router configed to to DHCP? How about OS9?
     
  5. xlacrosse macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #5
    more likely than not, you have a static ip address setup for your Ethernet Adapter. I would also try and disable to modem, there may be an issue where the computer is looking to the modem for its connection.

    The router should be assigning you a dynamic ip address and the gateway should be setup to point to the routers IP.

    Make sure all these settings are correct. In many cases the gateways ip is 192.168.0.1 .

    Try pinging the router and see whats going on.
     
  6. peterjhill macrumors 65816

    peterjhill

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    give me those results, and I will be able to tell you alot about what is going on...
     
  7. funkywhat2 macrumors 6502a

    funkywhat2

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    #7
    thanks for all the posts, we fixed it. the router working iun os 9 was a fluke, it shouldn't have worked at all. time for a new router!!!

    thanks again, eveyone:) :)
     
  8. krossfyter macrumors 601

    krossfyter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Location:
    secret city
    #8
    ah wha the hell does all that mean? i know you didnt tell me to do this im just curious.








    Internet:
    Destination Gateway Flags Refs Use Netif Expire
    default 68.98.252.1 UGSc 13 3 en0
    68.98.252/24 link#2 UC 0 0 en0
    68.98.252.1 0:30:7b:fb:98:54 UHLW 14 0 en0 1199
    68.98.252.240 127.0.0.1 UHS 0 0 lo0
    127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 UH 5 15531 lo0
    ifconfig -a
    [ip68-98-252-240:~] jbcantu% ifconfig -a
    lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384
    inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
    en0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,b6,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    inet 68.98.252.240 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 68.98.252.255
    ether 00:03:93:68:1c:f8
    media: autoselect (10baseT/UTP <half-duplex>) status: active
    supported media: none autoselect 10baseT/UTP <half-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <half-duplex,hw-loopback> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 100baseTX <half-duplex> 100baseTX <half-duplex,hw-loopback> 100baseTX <full-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 1000baseTX <full-duplex> 1000baseTX <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 1000baseTX <full-duplex,flow-control> 1000baseTX <full-duplex,flow-control,hw-loopback>
    en1: flags=8822<BROADCAST,b6,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    ether 00:30:65:1e:21:82
    media: autoselect (<unknown type>) status: inactive
    supported media: autoselect
     
  9. peterjhill macrumors 65816

    peterjhill

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #9

    This is your routing table, you are not running 10.2, or else you didn't include the ipv6 routing table:

    When you did this command, your wireless card was not in use, you had a wired connection. You are using real, routable IP addresses, not RFC 1918 private IPs.
    You might be connected to sprint, or else your provider has a connection.

    Your default gateway is 68.98.252.1 and the device you use to get to it is en0 which is your wired gateway
    The mac address of 68.98.252.1 is 00:30:7b:fb:98:54 and it is made by Cisco
    Internet:
    Destination Gateway Flags Refs Use Netif Expire
    default 68.98.252.1 UGSc 13 3 en0
    68.98.252/24 link#2 UC 0 0 en0
    68.98.252.1 0:30:7b:fb:98:54 UHLW 14 0 en0 1199

    These are you loopback addresses and local addresses, which can be reached by the loopback device (kind of a pretend ethernet device that is always up.
    68.98.252.240 127.0.0.1 UHS 0 0 lo0
    127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 UH 5 15531 lo0


    ifconfig -a
    [ip68-98-252-240:~] jbcantu% ifconfig -a
    This is the reverse dns of your ip address: ip68-98-252-240
    which you could verify by typing in:
    dig -x 69.98.252.240

    jbcantu is your log on name on your mac, and you have not su'd to root

    Here is your loopback interface, it is up, it is capable of sending and receiving multicast, it has the ability to pass a packet that is 16384bytes
    lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384
    inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
    The loopback has an ip address of 127.0.0.1 and a subnet mask of 255.0.0.0

    This is your wired ethernet interface, it is up and running. Your computer has a mac address of 00:03:93:68:1c:f8 on its wired port, you can probably figure out your address, your mtu is 1500bytes, which is typical ethernet maximum. Your subnet mask is a /24, or 255.255.255.0. I would guess you are on a company network. You are also probably connected to either a hub or a poorly configured switch, as you are running at 10mbps, at half duplex. You are running either a powermac or a powerbook, as your network interface is capable of running at gig speeds.

    en0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,b6,RUNNING,SITMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    inet 68.98.252.240 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 68.98.252.255
    ether 00:03:93:68:1c:f8
    media: autoselect (10baseT/UTP <half-duplex>) status: active
    supported media: none autoselect 10baseT/UTP <half-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <half-duplex,hw-loopback> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 100baseTX <half-duplex> 100baseTX <half-duplex,hw-loopback> 100baseTX <full-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 1000baseTX <full-duplex> 1000baseTX <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 1000baseTX <full-duplex,flow-control> 1000baseTX <full-duplex,flow-control,hw-loopback>

    So this is your wireless card, it is down, it has a mac address of 00:30:65:1e:31:82 which makes it an airport card. This means that you have a Ti Powerbook. (so do i)
    en1: flags=8822<BROADCAST,b6,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    ether 00:30:65:1e:21:82
    media: autoselect (<unknown type>) status: inactive
    supported media: autoselect
     
  10. peterjhill macrumors 65816

    peterjhill

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #10
    Last login: Fri Aug 23 22:01:10 on ttyp1
    Welcome to Darwin!
    [titan:~] phill% ifconfig -a
    lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384
    inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
    inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
    inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
    This is my PPTP link, that is currently down
    gif0: flags=8010<POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST> mtu 1280
    stf0: flags=0<> mtu 1280
    en0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    this is my link local ipv6 address, at work, it would also list my global public ipv6 address. every ipv6 device will have multiple ipv6 addresses
    inet6 fe80::203:93ff:fe80:2426%en0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x4
    ether 00:03:93:80:24:26
    media: autoselect (none) status: inactive
    supported media: none autoselect 10baseT/UTP <half-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <half-duplex,hw-loopback> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 100baseTX <half-duplex> 100baseTX <half-duplex,hw-loopback> 100baseTX <full-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 1000baseTX <full-duplex> 1000baseTX <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 1000baseTX <full-duplex,flow-control> 1000baseTX <full-duplex,flow-control,hw-loopback>
    en1: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    inet6 fe80::230:65ff:fe04:7b08%en1 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x5
    inet 10.0.1.2 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.0.1.255
    ether 00:30:65:04:7b:08
    media: autoselect status: active
    supported media: autoselect
    [titan:~] phill% netstat -rn
    Routing tables

    Internet:
    Destination Gateway Flags Refs Use Netif Expire
    default 10.0.1.1 UGSc 32 129 en1
    10.0.1/24 link#5 UCS 1 0 en1
    10.0.1.1 0:3:93:21:b0:81 UHLW 34 1951 en1 430
    10.0.1.2 127.0.0.1 UHS 0 1 lo0
    127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 UH 9 17661 lo0
    169.254 link#5 UCS 0 0 en1

    Internet6:
    Destination Gateway Flags Netif Expire
    UH lo0
    fe80::%lo0/64 Uc lo0
    link#1 UHL lo0
    fe80::%en0/64 link#4 UC en0
    0:3:93:80:24:26 UHL lo0
    fe80::%en1/64 link#5 UC en1
    0:30:65:4:7b:8 UHL lo0
    ff01::/32 U lo0
    ff02::%lo0/32 UC lo0
    ff02::%en0/32 link#4 UC en0
    ff02::%en1/32 link#5 UC en1
    see if you can figure out what all of my information means
     

Share This Page