Problem with quality when exporting from FCP

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by minitrialer, Mar 29, 2006.

  1. minitrialer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Uk,Suffolk,Ipswich
    #1
    Hi, and sorry to be a pain.I am new to FCP and have searched the forum but couldn't seem to find an answer.Here goes:
    Well, when i try export a video made on my panasonic camcorder- alright quality entry level 3 chip 500 quid etc. etc. it seems no matter what format i try the motion is really blurry ( it is a video of BMX-ers) and there are funny stripy lines when they move fast and sometimes not even that fast. I want to make a video and burn it to DVD and have it nice quality, what format should i export it as?( The quality is fine when i watch it straight on the TV)
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks
    Dan
     
  2. PegasusMedia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #2
    problem exporting

    Have you actually burned a DVD and these problems happen when playing your DVD on TV?

    If not...do so. You will probably see the problem correct itself. You are seeing the difference in the way a computer monitor works vs. the way a TV works. I'm an NTSC guy, not PAL, so I won't try to explain it too technically & look stoopid. Has to do with Progressive vs. interlaced, frame rates, bla bla bla.

    Suffice to say, if the problem you are seeing is only on the computer screen, you probably don't have a problem. It will likely look fine when burned & played on a TV.
     
  3. pdpfilms macrumors 68020

    pdpfilms

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vermontana
    #3
    What you're seeing is interlacing. These lines are what are referred to when you see specs for broadcast monitors and such... "480 lines", "520 lines", etc. Video is split into half frames, containing every other line of information. The following frame contains the other half of the lines, and thus fast motion reveals these lines.

    The blurring you are seeing could be framerate issues. If you shot at 29.97fps (which you likely did), you should edit and output at 29.97fps. If you try to adjust at anypoint, you might get this blurring.
     
  4. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #4
    Since you're in the UK, if it's a PAL camcorder, you'll likely have shot at 25fps, so you should edit and output at the same.
     
  5. ChrisFromCanada macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #5
    What s/he said!
     
  6. minitrialer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Uk,Suffolk,Ipswich
    #6
    thanks a lot for the reply's. No i haven't burnt it onto a DVD it's just that on some t has it and some it doesn't so i didn't think that was it. Yes it is pal so if i export it quicktime movie- DVpal 2 48khz 24@25 then in theory when i burn to a dvd and play it back it should be fine?

    Thanks again for all the replies- much appreciated!
    My excuse is i have only just started using the program so i didn't really have a clue what i was doing! cheers again
     
  7. Keebler macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    try here too:

    exporting a movie to DVD involves many factors:
    such as the other said, making sure you have the right framerate etc..
    and yes, if you are watching it on a monitor, it will look different than a TV
    and exporting using proper bitrates for compression.

    visit: http://discussions.apple.com/category.jspa?categoryID=123 for more information on exporting.

    good luck,
    Keebler
     
  8. minitrialer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Uk,Suffolk,Ipswich
    #8
    Thanks a lot, can't wait to get started now! Cheers.
     
  9. evil_santa macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #9
    if you are going from FCP to DVD studio, just go
    File>Export>Quicktime Movie >Current settings> make movie self contained.
    Then your not re compressing the data before it goes in to DVD studio.

    If you are exporting as a QT movie for the web, use compressor & set the Frame Controls to custom & play with the de interlace settings.
     
  10. hvfsl macrumors 68000

    hvfsl

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    In future, you might want to check to see if your camcorder has a progressive mode. It's generally only a feature of highend camcorders, but yours might have it.
     
  11. 3dit3r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    #11
     
  12. evil_santa macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #12
    PAL is 625 vertical lines 50Hz, (except for PAL M @525/60hz) The active area of the PAL frame is 576 lines, the remaining lines are used for blanking & vitc.
     
  13. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #13
    That would only make sense if you shot it at 24 frames/second. If you shot it at 25 frames/second, just go with the standard DV PAL 48KHz setting, and don't use the 24@25 setting.
     
  14. 3dit3r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    #14
    I believe that's what I wrote. I went for a simple explanation and didn't feel the need to describe how the CRT gun traces the image and where the blanking interval occurs, etc.
     
  15. evil_santa macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #15
    Sorry I interpreted you post to say that PAL comes as 625 lines or 576 Lines.

    I recently had a designer ask me to re size some images that were 576 up to 625 so they can be put to tape!
     
  16. 3dit3r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    #16
    No problem.

    Ah, the age old confusion between pixels, dpi, scan lines, resolution, frame size...and the list goes on...:)
     
  17. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #17
    Account executives at a place I used to work would send us logos pulled from the client's website to use full screen in TV spots. No matter how many times we told them, "No. Bad account executive!" they still gave us these tiny-@ss files to use and when we'd ask for graphics they'd be like, "But I gave-" and we'd interrupt, "No, I need a real graphic."

    Ugh.


    Lethal
     
  18. 3dit3r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    #18
    Haha! The old website logo routine! Now with the proliferation of video on the web, I've got clients claiming, "...but it looks great on my computer screen...", which I then follow-up with my Video Lesson 3A speech about frame size, resolution, interlacing...basically what got me into this thread...

    Ugh indeed.
     
  19. minitrialer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Uk,Suffolk,Ipswich
    #19
    Thanks a lot appreciate everyones help, almost know what i am doing now :p


    Dan
     

Share This Page