Problem with Vista RC1 / Bootcamp 1.1.1

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by mcenergy, Oct 17, 2006.

  1. mcenergy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #1
    I'm trying to install Vista RC1 on my MBP. I just updated Bootcamp to 1.1.1 and I get the message "Windows is unable to find a system volume that meets its criteria for installation"

    Any suggestions??
    Thanks.

    Richard
     
  2. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #2
    Vista technically isn't supported by Bootcamp, so it's not suprising it doesn't work
     
  3. mcenergy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #3
    Problem with Vista RC1 / Bootcamp 1.1.1

    So then why are there so many articles on the Mac websites about how great Vista runs on a MBP?
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    How big is your partition? Vista needs 14 GB.
     
  5. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #5
    What method did you use for trying to install Vista? I don't know the details of how it works, but I know you have to install XP SP2 first and then upgrade to Vista.. did you do that?
     
  6. grabberslasher macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Éire
    #6
    Ok I've done this numerous times (including yesterday on a MacBook), and this is how you install Vista RC1. You do not need Windows XP:

    • Partition using bootcamp
    • Reboot into Windows Vista DVD
    • Choose the first disk in the installer (200MB EFI) and choose "delete" from the Advanced Options at the bottom.
    • Reboot the computer
    • Boot from Windows Vista DVD (a second time, yes I know)
    • Now setup Vista as normal - it should accept the Boot Camp partition.

    "But wait, I have to delete a partition?" you might ask. Don't worry, it isn't actually deleting the partition. Basically, it's just removing it from the partition list, but the partition is still there. It only means Boot Camp Assistant will not run unless you do the following optional step:

    Experts only - forget about this unless you know what you're doing

    • "fdisk -e /dev/rdisk0" in Terminal
    • Move the existing entries down one slot each (entry 1 goes to 2, 2 to 3)
    • Edit entry 1 to be of type "EE", start "1" and size "409639"
    • Write the table and reboot the computer again
     
  7. Yoursh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    MN
    #7
    I had the same problm a few days ago when installing RC2 on my macbook. All I did was select the partition in the vista installer selected 'format' then rebooted from the RC2 disc again. It was able to install on that partition after that without deleteing any partitions. At least that's what worked for me.
     
  8. mcenergy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #8
    Problem with Vista RC1 / Bootcamp 1.1.1

    Thanks to all for the suggestions. I wound up installing XP SP2 firsst ad then upgraded to Vista. That seemed to work just fine.
     

Share This Page