Problems accessing forums

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by Daveman Deluxe, Jun 30, 2003.

  1. Daveman Deluxe macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #1
    Starting in the middle of last week, I was unable to access the MacRumors forums or the daily poll on the main page when on the wireless network at home (the connection times out after sixty seconds). I'm using a Belkin wireless router with WEP enabled and DHCP disabled. I have a 12" iBook with AirPort and I'm using Safari 1.0.

    I don't think that it's related to Safari because for the first couple of days that I had Safari 1.0, it worked fine. Furthermore, I can access the polls and forums just fine at the office where I use a wired Ethernet connection.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #2
    what error or problem happens?

    page won't load? or there is a specific error?

    arn
     
  3. Daveman Deluxe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #3
    It just doesn't load. I click on the link, and the status bar says "Connecting to forums.macrumors.com..." Sixty seconds later, an error message pops up that says "Couldn't connect to forums.macrumors.com after trying for sixty seconds."

    In short, the page simply won't load.
     
  4. scem0 macrumors 604

    scem0

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    back in NYC!
    #4
    Maybe your ISP is faulty or there is something obstructing your connection to the airport. Does it happen when your computer is right next to your airport?

    scem0
     
  5. Daveman Deluxe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #5
    Nothing's wrong with the AirPort connection. If there were, then I wouldn't be able to use the Internet at all. Not sure about the ISP angle, but I doubt it.
     
  6. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #6
    -Daveman Deluxe

    Time to open Network Utility and start pingin'!
     
  7. Daveman Deluxe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #7
    I'll do that when I get home, but what will a ping tell me?
     
  8. MacFan25 macrumors 68000

    MacFan25

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    Every once in a while I get these messages too, but I think that its just my ISP, and part of dial-up.
     
  9. Daveman Deluxe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #9
    Well, I went ahead and pinged forums.macrumors.com and got no reply. I did a traceroute to the same address, and the traceroute never got past my DSL modem. Very peculiar indeed. Has anybody got any ideas?
     
  10. Schiffi macrumors 6502a

    Schiffi

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Location:
    Missouri
    #10
    Macrumors does that occasionally to me too. Just refresh.
     
  11. Daveman Deluxe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #11
    I've tried refreshing. Nothing seems to work.
     
  12. Daveman Deluxe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #12
    More information on the problem:

    The iMac that's hooked up to the same wireless router via an Ethernet cable also cannot connect to forums.macrumors.com. I was wondering if maybe the forums uses a different port that I need to unblock in the router. At any rate, if nobody has any idea what the deal is, that's cool. I'll just have to check the forums at work.
     

Share This Page