Problems Connecting WiFi with Tiger

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by neocell, Jun 5, 2005.

1. neocell macrumors 65816

neocell

Here's the story: I'm in an apartment building and some friends upstairs got high speed DSL and a WiFi router. He gave me the password for the signal and I've been using it happily for about 6 months (for the mere cost of a six pack/month) until Tiger. When I upgraded to Tiger the connection went along fine, but now I can only connect when they are actually surfing (they're using a Wintel), if I try to connect when they're not surfing I get a strong signal but no ISP or server info when Safari does the automatic internet check, even though their Wintel is still on and connected. Now I just found out that if I don't shut my iMac down, the connection stays active even if they are not surfing. So what it comes down to is if I want to keep my six-pack WiFi signal I can't restart my computer, or organize with them when they'll be surfing to get it back. This is very strange in my eyes. Does anyone have any info into why this could be happening with Tiger and if there's anyway around it besides getting my own DSL. Thanks

2. superbovine macrumors 68030

superbovine

first, try rebooting the wireless router upstairs. unplug it for a minute, this allows everything to disconnect and everything will re-connect fresh.

are you sure they aren't turning off their router when they surf, and you connecting to a different router that you don't have access too? My guess is that is the problem.

check out this software:
    http://www.macstumbler.com

It will list all the connection out there.

3. neocell thread starter macrumors 65816

neocell