problems importing correct file size from camera

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by hal, Sep 26, 2006.

  1. hal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    #1
    I have finally taken the plunge and bought a iMac!
    However because of problems I'd heard I didn't buy Photoshop with it. I'm used to connecting my digital camera by usb to my pc, opening photoshop and saying download images. I then decide how big to save the file as, not the pc! If I use Iphoto, the mac seems to be importing my photos that are normally 17 mb as 2mb. I have worked out if I export to the library I can change the file type, which converts the 2mb to 17mb as it should be. But it still stays at only 72dpi, I'm used to my images being automatically 300dpi

    Can anyone stop me pulling my hair out and explain to this simpleton the simplest way to get the images off my digital camera, that keeps the original file size (approx 17mb) and has a dpi of 300?
    :eek:
     
  2. hal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    #2
    problems importing correct file size from camera

    I have finally taken the plunge and bought a imac!
    However because of problems I'd heard I didn't buy Photoshop with it. I'm used to connecting my digital camera by usb to my pc, opening photoshop and saying download images. I then decide how big to save the file as, not the pc! If I use Iphoto, the mac seems to be importing my photos that are normally 17 mb as 2mb. I have worked out if I export to the library I can change the file type, which converts the 2mb to 17mb as it should be. But it still stays at only 72dpi, I'm used to my images being automatically 300dpi

    Can anyone stop me pulling my hair out and explain to this simpleton the simplest way to get the images off my digital camera, that keeps the original file size (approx 17mb) and has a dpi of 300?
    :(

    [Threads merged. Please do not double post.]
     
  3. samiwas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    I always just use the finder and drag the images from the camera into a finder folder. The files are untouched by any software in the process, so you have the original files. I think this would do what you want.
     
  4. blodwyn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #4
    What format are you shooting in? If you're shooting RAW and JPEG then iPhoto won't import the RAW files, just the JPEGs. Photoshop will import the RAW files OK - what was the reason behind you not buying it?
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    iPhoto 6 added RAW support for a number of cameras.

    To the OP. Which camera are you using? It sounds suspiciously like you have been resizing and uncompressing JPEGs from your camera with Photoshop.

    B
     
  6. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    You may be confusing the thumbnails with the full images. iPhoto does not downsample photographs unless you explicitly instruct it to do so. I have never seen it downsample photos while importing them from a digital camera.
     
  7. hal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    #7
    re problems importing

    Sorry for posting the question twice, I wasn't sure as I'm new to this site if it was a software or camera question.

    Samiwas when I plug the Nikon D70 in and go to finder I can't see anywhere that it recognises it has the camera. With image capture it says D70.?

    Blodwyn, the reason I didn't buy Photoshop, is because I'd heard that mac weren't supporting it and were waiting for cs3 to come out to find a solution. I've got friends who have bought a macbook pro with photoshop, who can't use the photoshop.

    The default settings may be telling the camera in iphoto to downsize, I don't know because i'm new to the whole shebang!

    Thanks for all the replies
     
  8. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #8
    The Finder only shows cameras that present themselves as mass storage devices (esentially the same as a USB hard drive). It sounds like the D70 does not do that (I don't have one to try). You will have to use Image Capture, iPhoto or Aperture to download your pictures from the camera.
     
  9. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #9
    When you plug in the D70 with iPhoto open it should automatically prompt you to import pictures. These will be imported at whatever resolution and format they are stored on your camera. No Finder navigation should be necessary. Once imported into iPhoto, you can confirm that they are indeed RAW images by looking at the 'info' window at lower left, where you have a summary of file name, type, image dimension, etc. You can also add Spotlight-searchable comments here.
     
  10. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #10
    I use a card reader rather than hook the camera directly into the computer. I then open Pictures and upload into a folder there. That preserves them for later work or simply archiving. Next I again upload, but this time into Aperture, which is where I view, sort, and work on them. In each situation the images show as thumbnails but when I open a given one it is the size I shot in-camera.
     

Share This Page