Problems loading Panther to a firewire hd

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Juventuz, Jul 3, 2003.

  1. Juventuz macrumors 6502a

    Juventuz

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Binghamton
    #1
    I've been using a copy Panther that I've loaded on my iPod, but decided to build an external firewire hd yesterday, now that it's finally working properly I decided to load Panther on it so I can have my iPod back.

    My problem is that everytime I try to load Panther on it it won't do a full install, Panther says it's completed the install but it always seems like something is missing. When I try to reboot using Panther as my start up disc it does nothing and boots into Jaguar. Then I try to reinstall Panther on the hd and it says I have to erase what's on there and reinstall. I do it and it's the same thing. There are Panther files on the HD, but I can't do anything with them.

    Why would it load fine and work flawlessly on my iPod, but not on a 120gig firewire hd? Could part of the problem be that the hd is set as a master? Should I have it set to CS or Slave? I had to initialize my new hd in OS 9 because it wouldn't initialize in OS X, should I load Panther from OS 9?

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. davegoody macrumors 6502

    davegoody

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Location:
    Reading, Berkshire, England
    #2
    Probably an incompatible HDD

    Apple computers are notoriously choosy as to which hard drives are connected to the internal bus. This may be the problem too with running the drive properly on OSX. Maybe a firmware update would solve the problem or possibly the Firewire chipset on your drive casing is not fully supported by OSX. If you could not format the drive originally in OSX Jaguar, then it is unlikely that Panther will install correctly on it.
    The Oxford (911) chipset, I believe, is one of the most compatible on the market.

    Hope this Helps :p
     
  3. Juventuz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Juventuz

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Binghamton
    #3
    Thanks.... It does say Oxford in the description of the drive. Both the case and the HD say that they are Mac compatible.

    Maybe I'll try the firmware update on it.


    _____________
    edit - It seems that the firmware update was no good. Any other ideas?
     
  4. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    make sure the drive is on CS or Cable Select. This is essential on an external drive.
     
  5. Juventuz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Juventuz

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Binghamton
    #5
    Ahh ok... that's next. Thanks
     
  6. Juventuz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Juventuz

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Binghamton
    #6
    Well I switched it to CS and re-installed Panther and still no luck. It won't allow me to boot into Panther on my external drive. When I go into System Preferences and click on Start Up Disk I have no problem seeing the drive and it says 10.3 and I click on it to restart and it restarts... just into Jaguar :(

    Any other ideas?
     
  7. MacBoyX macrumors 6502

    MacBoyX

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    #7
    I am not sure if this is going to help or not but I don't think you'd want your internal hd set to CS, but to master.

    I have loaded Panther on my Firewire HD. I have Jaguar loaded on my HD. I don't use start up disk. I just plug the FWHD into my Mac and reboot. I hold down the OPTION key while it's rebooting and my Mac shows my internal HD and my Firewire HD. I choose the one I want, press the black arrow and it boots up.

    I have had no problems with this... I hope I have helped.

    MacBoyX
     
  8. Juventuz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Juventuz

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Binghamton
    #8
    The HD in my PB is set to master, I switched the external firewire HD to CS.

    I've tried the booting from start up, by pressing the option key when I turn it on and it doesn't recognize my external HD.


    Also, when I first installed panther on my iPod at the end of installation I had to fill in all the blanks, i.e. email, internet preferences etc. I have yet to do that when installing Panther on my firewire hd.
     
  9. Juventuz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Juventuz

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Binghamton
    #9
    Wow, do I feel dumb.

    I hadn't set permissions for the HD yet so it wouldn't take. As soon I set the permissions all was well. I'm using Panther now.
     
  10. jbrown macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #10
    what do you mean ' set permissions ' = and how do you do it?? :confused: :confused:
     
  11. Billicus macrumors 6502a

    Billicus

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Location:
    Charles City, Iowa
    #11
    He probably selected it in the Finder, hit OA-I and unchecked the option to ignore permissions on the HD.
     
  12. Juventuz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Juventuz

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Binghamton
    #12
    That's exactly what I did, it works well now.
     
  13. jbrown macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #13
    Being thick here...

    ...but how do you do a OA-I in finder - I can't seem to find out how.....:confused: :confused:
     
  14. Billicus macrumors 6502a

    Billicus

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Location:
    Charles City, Iowa
    #14
    Re: Being thick here...

    Select something and hit Open Apple - I or choose "Get Info from the File Menu.
     
  15. pik0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    #15
    Ignore ownership

    Okay, I'll bite.

    I've unchecked this feature. But it still didn't show up in the Open Firmware bootable list (pressing and holding the Option key on startup).

    I just pressed the "Apply to enclosed items..." on a whim to see if that would help. Be back after a reboot... :p

    This sucks otherwise. I was able to install the first version of Panther that we received in the mail. But, 7B21 and 7B28 REFUSE to boot.

    Another suggestion I have heard is to install 10.2.x and then install Panther as an upgrade. Perhaps there is some crucial file that is making this not bootable off the firewire... :(

    Piko
     

Share This Page