problems with adelphia internet

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by vtprinz, Jul 5, 2005.

  1. vtprinz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    #1
    Ok, so I just got Adelphia cable internet set up. I have a motorola surboard cable modem connected to a D-Link 514 router. My old Dell PC (running XP) is connected physically to the router, while my ibook (10.4) is connected wirelessly. I'm online with the PC, but I can't get the ibook to connect to the internet. It's connected to the router and picking up a full signal (i can connect to the shared folders on my PC), I just can't get online with it.

    Any ideas? I've tried restarting everything in the setup to no avail. Unless I'm just doing it in the wrong order. I've done everything it said to do in the setup guide, and the connection with my PC is working perfectly. Just can't get the ibook online. Thanks for any help!
     
  2. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #2
    In a standard set-up, the router is set to act as a DCHP server. It'll dish out the IP addresses to each computer as it sees fit. If this is how your D-Link is set-up, make sure your iBook is set to recieve an IP address from the router.

    Go into the Network System Pref and select DCHP in the box asking about obtaining IP addresses.

    Hope that helps you.
     
  3. vtprinz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    #3
    The ibook is set for DHCP and it's picking up an IP address, just not connecting to the internet.

    As an update, I did find that it will connect to the internet when hard wired to the router, but not when connected wirelessly
     
  4. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #4
    My girlfriend purchased this router and I couldn't get any Mac to wirelessly connect to it. After much research and playing with setting I figured it out:

    1. Log in to router
    2. Click advanced.
    3. Click performance.
    2. Change it from short to long preamble.

    Give a second or two and all should be well. If not, restart your router and restart you iBook. I bet this will work.
     
  5. vtprinz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    #5
    Ah yes, I remember having that problem when I first got the router. Unfortunately, however, it's already been set to long preamble. I was using this setup just 2 weeks ago when I was using NTC, with no problems, now that I've switched to Adelphia I can't get it to connect wirelessly.
     
  6. vtprinz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    #6
    GAHHH, I just figured it out. I'd set up a MAC filter, and when I put in the MAC address for the ibook I put in the ethernt address instead of the airport address (hence why it worked when hard wired). Silly me. Thanks for all the help though!
     
  7. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #7
    Ah. I tried. Well, if you are getting computers to connect by way of wires, its not an Adelphia problem. It has to be something with the router or the iBook. I wish I could tell you more.
     

Share This Page