Problems with Apple Remote / IR sensor

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by catracho, Jun 29, 2006.

  1. catracho macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    I just bought a black MacBook (I love it) but my apple remote / IR sensor is not working so I can't use FrontRow (I can activate FrontRow with command + esc in the keyboard).

    How can I solve the problem? Maybe is the battery in the remote or something with the IR sensor?

    Please help me!

    PD: IR sensor is active in security settings.
     
  2. Xander562 macrumors 68000

    Xander562

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #2
    i've heard that different remotes can be assigned to different comptuers, so that the signal from one remote wont be picked up by a different computer when you dont want it to, maybe your remote was accidentally assigned to a different computer in the factory? perhaps you need make sure your remote is assigned to your computer, i know that this is possible and easy, but i'm not sure how to do it. i'm pretty sure this will clear up the problem.
     
  3. smartalic34 macrumors 6502a

    smartalic34

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    try holding your remote 3-4" from the IR sensor, and hold down MENU and >>| (the forward button) together for 5 seconds... an icon should appear on the screen signifying the pairing of the remote to the computer
     
  4. catracho thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #4
    I tried but nothing happen (no icon appears).

    Another Idea?
     
  5. catracho thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #5
    How could I check if the problem is the remote or the IR sensor?
     

Share This Page