Problems with brand new Macbook..

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by british724, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. british724 macrumors member

    british724

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Indy
    #1
    Alright, so I'm pretty much on the verge of a panic attack..

    I bought the 1.83 Macbook today.

    Everything was going really well.

    I installed AOL Instant Messenger. It went fine.

    Now, as soon as I've had it open for more than 5 minutes, it "unexpectedly" has to close.

    I also can't download MSN Live Messenger.

    I just started trying to use iMovie and iDVD, and they too are "unexpectedly" having to close.

    WHY are all my programs suddenly doing this?

    I'm absolutely terrified that I may have made a huge mistake in purchasing this computer. Especially for what I had to pay for it...Macs aren't cheap.

    Alright if anyone has any advice or suggestions or ideas or ANYTHING about this, please let me know asap! I'm going to be up all night scared otherwise... ha.

    Help!

    Thank you!
     
  2. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #2
    Return it. It shouldn't do that right out of the box.
     
  3. Mpulsive81 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    #3
    i am having a similar problem w/ AIM. I found that if i'm switching between safari and aim, it'll mess up. I'm considering taking mine back as well, but i lucked out by not getting one that moo'ed. So i dunno...
     
  4. Bubbasteve macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #4
    Don't use AIM...AIM is LAME! (sorry...)

    Try out Adium -- it's a nice AIM client that is much more reliable and customizable
     
  5. british724 thread starter macrumors member

    british724

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Indy
    #5
    For the amount I just put out there, I want this thing to be damn near perfect...

    So, you're saying that in order for AIM to work, I can't be in safari?

    Christ...

    I don't have time to screw around with this - I leave for college in T-Minus 6 days.

    So you all really think I should just take it back? It doesn't moo or anything so I dont' want to have terrible luck and get a "mooer".

    Yuck.
     
  6. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #6
    DON'T USE AIM. Try Adium or even iChat, AIM for Mac sucks, just use a decent client.

    There is no MSN Live Messenger for Mac, you have to download Microsoft Messenger - it's crap compared to the Windows version but it works, just no audio or video chat.
     
  7. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #7
    so use Adium for AIM and MSN
     
  8. british724 thread starter macrumors member

    british724

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Indy
    #8
    I'm so glad this forum exists.

    Okay so.. another issue.. sorry

    I just tried to download Firefox, and it says "Mounting Failed". What the heck does that MEAN? I never use firefox and Safari seems good enough but some techies have told me to get Firefox for sure. Any advice on that?

    And I agree, AIM does suck but it's just what I've always had. sad :(
     
  9. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #9
    Try to redownload it, maybe the download got corrupt
     
  10. kevin.rivers macrumors 6502a

    kevin.rivers

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #10
    Firefox is a "power browser" if you will. Once you go tab browsing you don't go back. Camino is actuall tailored specifically for OS X, and is built from Firefox. I would recommend that to you.

    Mounting Failed: When you dl programs they usually come as a disk image or .dmg it mounts like a CD or ISO would in Windows. It sounds like you have a corrupted image. Try downloading it again. Or try and get it from another source like MacUpdate.

    As far as AIM, most people have it right. The AIM prog for Mac sucks. I can say this without having used it because the Windows version has always sucked and I never used it, after my intial attempt of course. iChat or Adium(if you have multiple chat apps that you use) are great and ages beyond AIM.

     
  11. british724 thread starter macrumors member

    british724

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Indy
    #11
    OKay, I just tried to download Adium, and THAT too says "mounting failed"

    What the heck am I doing wrong?

    Ugh.
     
  12. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #12
    Have you done all the necessary OS updates?
    Also have you repaired permissions?
    HD > Applications > Utilities > Disk Utility.
     
  13. british724 thread starter macrumors member

    british724

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Indy
    #13
    PS - I am now officially "mooing"

    I'm going to cry :(
     
  14. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #14
    Why cry? this isn't the end of the world.
     
  15. kevin.rivers macrumors 6502a

    kevin.rivers

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #15
    If you are going to cry, just take it back. You didn't spend that much in comparison to Windows laptops. So please don't cry that Macs are so "expensive".

    If you really feel that way though, take it back and get a (insert bargain basement Windows Computer vendor here).

    You clearly don't know the OS and don't know computers well enough to search and figure it out on your own.

    People will help you, but I personally don't want to hear you complain. You bought it, if you don't want it take it back. You knew they moo'ed before you bought it.

     
  16. british724 thread starter macrumors member

    british724

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Indy
    #16
    well i just did the disk repair thing, and still it's telling me that "mounting failed"

    i wish i knew more about this OS, and maybe i wouldn't be asking so many questions :( sadly, i'm new, and already having issues.

    is this a REALLY bad sign?
     
  17. comictimes macrumors 6502a

    comictimes

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Berkeley, California
    #17
    Take it into an Apple store and get the people at the genius bar to look at it. They're really good at this stuff and can easily work to get you a replacement for your comp as soon as possible. One of my friends had the same issues (except for the mooing) on his Macbook Pro, with images failing to mount and such, and he took it in and got it replaced, and all is well now.

    edit: oh yea, just make sure to backup anything important beforehand, because they won't transfer the information on your hard drive over for you...
     
  18. british724 thread starter macrumors member

    british724

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Indy
    #18
    hold on - should i just use iChat?..

    i'm way too new to this. excuse my ignorance.
     
  19. kevin.rivers macrumors 6502a

    kevin.rivers

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #19
    If you use messengers other than AOL, then use Adium or another multi protocol messenger. If you just use AOL then use iChat.

    It really comes down to personal preference. Use them both and see which one you like.

     
  20. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #20
    Ok here is something to try.

    Boot from your Install DVD and go to disk utility and go to repair disk.

    Just to make sure everything is ok.

    Also make sure you have done all the updates
     
  21. british724 thread starter macrumors member

    british724

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Indy
    #21
    My install DVD? You mean the one that came with the computer, the OSX installation one?

    Sorry.

    Me = No0b
     
  22. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #22
    Yes

    Hold down C when you restart with that DVD in the drive.

    Then at the top i believe after the startup there is a Utilities Drop down and then go to Disk utility and then repair disk.

    Just in case something is the matter there


    But have you done all the OS updates?

    Click on the apple at the top then go to software update
     
  23. british724 thread starter macrumors member

    british724

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Indy
    #23
    anyways

    so i was kind of confused when i first opened the box. i read through the first few pages of the manual to get a feel for it, but then when i read the front of the disk it said it was the Mac OS X installation cd... but then it was already installed, so i figured that was a backup?

    just seemed a little odd. i'm used to having to put it (the OS) on there myself.

    i just started using iChat and things seem to be going a lot better. i guess it was AIM that was really messing things up... i wonder why that is?

    i'm still getting the "mounting" issue, but perhaps that'll solve itself.

    so far things are steady so hopefully it's nothing too serious!

    i can always take it to the genius bad (as you all previously mentioned...)

    (is that free btw?)

    thanks for everyone's input :) much appreciated. i knew the switch would take a little adjusting, i just wasn't expecting these random little problems to come up so fast :(
     
  24. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #24
    i would possibly just reinstall the OS anyways just to start with your own clean OS that you put on there.

    At least that is what i do.

    It may fix the mounting problem
     
  25. kevin.rivers macrumors 6502a

    kevin.rivers

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #25
    This is my practice as well. Would be a good learning experience as well.

    If you were up to it, you could remove some things from the installation and free up some disk space as well.

     

Share This Page