Problems with iMac connecting to internet

Discussion in 'iMac' started by tyroneshoelaces, Sep 29, 2006.

  1. tyroneshoelaces macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #1
    Hi

    New here, and not sure if anyone will have experienced this problem. I'm connected via the USB connections to the net via an alcatel 330 adsl modem. It simply refuses to connect at the moment. The diagnostic software you get with the modem, some of you may be familiar with it, steadfastly refuses to turn from yellow to green - and all I get from the two lights on the modem is this: the USB one goes green, the adsl one flashes forever. I've done everything my ISP suggests - reinstalling the driver, trying another modem, using other wires, trying other phone points around the house, disconnecting other telephony and so on ad nauseum. Nothing works. I don't think the phone line is down (the phone works all over the house, and from the major phone point, which is the one I use in the front room). Since a different modem gives the same problem, I'm beginning to think it's a problem inside the computer (but not the USB connections, because the keyboard and the printer both work out of all of these). I'm at my wit's end. Anyone ever had this, or think what it could be? Do I need to get my computer (out of warranty, of course) in for repair? Or, god forbid, buy a new one?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #2
    My recommendation would be to ask your ISP for an ethernet-capable router, rather than one which requires USB as a connection. For whatever reason, communication between Macs and USB routers seems to be sketchy at best. Get on the phone with the ISP and require a non-crappy router and you'll be fine. The problem is not your iMac, there's no reason to take it in for service.
     
  3. tyroneshoelaces thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #3
    That's good advice... thanks

    I certainly hope you're right. But I've been connected via USB for years, so I find it a bit bizarre that this should go wrong now. Thanks again. I'll let you all know –I know you're on the edge of your seats.
     
  4. tyroneshoelaces thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #4
    May I ask a further question

    Does an ethernet router connect through a phone line in the same way as a modem? (I'm sorry - I'm technically illiterate)
     
  5. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #5
    I'm guessing that what your ISP will do, as is typical these days, is provide a modem/router all-in-one-box solution. If not, the connection would be phone line->modem->router->computer.
     
  6. tyroneshoelaces thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #6
    Ah, and scuse my ignorance,

    you still need the modem if you don't have an all in one router-modem? I'm learning, I'm learning.
     
  7. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #7
    technically, a modem is a router...

    I'm curious though, because your broadband modem should have an ethernet port (an RJ-45 jack...looks like a big phone jack) already on it. Does it not have one of those?

    are you DSL or cable, btw?

    EDIT: should've read more closely...it's DSL
     
  8. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #8
    yeesh...it doesn't have an ethernet port. I'm (obviously) not familiar with this particular product...

    have you tried looking for a new driver? If you Mac is Intel-based it may explain why your modem won't
    connect i.e. maybe the drivers you've got are for PPC only...

    EDIT: maybe the OSX v10.4 TIGER driver would help Link
     

Share This Page