Problems with Messenger.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by missjuly, Oct 3, 2006.

1. missjuly macrumors newbie

I cant seem to log on to messenger, I just downloaded it last night and it worked fine, but today i cant log in, when I try it says I dont have an internet connection and something about server not responding?

2. psychofreak Retired

psychofreak

I have the same problem, and cannot connect to the iTS, can you?

3. missjuly thread starter macrumors newbie

Im sorry but what is iTS? Im kind of new to this..:eek:

4. codo macrumors 6502

iTunes Store (The store button in iTunes - "iTunes Store" with a green shopping bag icon to the left of the text.)

The new version of messenger (We are talking about Microsoft MSN:Mac here?) has been a bit like this with me too. The older version running in Rosetta wasn't. Might just be a teething problem.

5. missjuly thread starter macrumors newbie

Lol thanks. No itunes store is working fine. And yes im talking about Microsoft MSN : MAC, it says the service is not available... But it worked fine yesterday? im I doing anything wrong?

6. McBain macrumors member

I'm having a similar problem, but maybe it's slightly more bizarre.

I upgraded OS X to 10.4.8 last night and updated Messenger to version 6 as well. Now I can't log in to the service.

I thought maybe it was version 6, so I trashed that, downloaded 5.1 and installed that again. No dice. It sort of logs in - it gets to the window but it doesn't open my buddy list.

I downloaded Adium and got the same result. Not able to log in.

I have a spare Mac lying around - an old Powerbook. I had version 4 on there. So I logged in, and I got the same no-buddy-list error as with 5.1.

I am able to log in using Live Messenger on PC. My fiancee is also able to log in on version 4 on the old Powerbook.

Anyone have any ideas how I can fix this?

7. bousozoku Moderator emeritus