Problems with Powermac G5?: "the Big Bang" effect

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, Feb 15, 2006.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    #2
    The powermac G5 has a 1000W power supply? That is... impressive.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #3
    Not so impressive when it goes "Boom." :p
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    adamfilip

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Location:
    burlington, Ontario canada
    #4
    geeze 1kw power supply. thats crazy

    its hard enough to find a battery backup to run my dual 2.0 which needs 700 watts to keep it running
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #5
    One wonders if the power supplies they got are actually rated for a different country's electrical system (ie. different voltage and/or different amperage).

    But 1000W... wow! I didn't know the G5's were quite that power hungry. 300W is still sufficient to run a typical PC. I definitely wouldn't want to leave a 1kW system running 24/7 -- my electric bill would be through the roof.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #6
    where do you find specs like that, all i ever find about my G5 is the power requirements but not the PSU's rated wattage.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #7
    I know that the original dual processor G5 (1.8 and 2.0 dual) had a 600 watt PSU...

    which I thought was crazy considering that I've got a 325watt Antec PSU in my PC running an overclocked CPU and GPU (which needs an additional Molex connection to power it anyway), 3 HDDs and two optical drives. True, I have an AMD system, and P4 systems run "hotter" than the equivalent Athlon system, but still...My G5 shouldn't need so much juice to run 2 hdds, 1 optical and a passively cooled 5200 bare-bones GPU...should it?

    1000 watts is insane. I wonder if my entire house uses that much electricity?

    How does Apple get EnergyStar certification...or do they not?
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    NNO-Stephen

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    #8
    300W is not typical anymore. no no no. not on a high-end PC that can keep up w/ a dual G5 anyway.
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    shamino

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Location:
    Purcellville, VA
    #9
    Keep in mind that no system every draws the maximum current continuously. A 1000W supply means it has the capability of providing 1000W. It won't actually be supplying that kind of power unless you max-out everything (highest clock speed CPUs, maximum-power devices installed in every slot, maximum number of internal drives, etc.)

    While it might be nice to get a UPS that can handle a maximum load, it is rarely necessary. If you're seriously concerned about this and don't want to go with back-of-the-envelope estimates, you should get a power meter (like the Kill-A-Watt and measure actual power consumption.

    The numbers you get probably won't be anything close to the theoretical maximum printed on the computer's case. It's worth noting that the G5's maximum power draw (according to the spec sheet) is 10A at 120V - or 1200W or 1700VA. But if you would look at this and think you need a 1700VA UPS to keep one running, you'd be wrong. Reports from people who have measured actual power consumption are that it draws far less than 10A.
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    shamino

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Location:
    Purcellville, VA
    #10
    A 1000W PS does not mean it draws a constant 1000W! It means the PS is capable of providing that much power if the devices need it.

    You won't hit that number unless you max out everything that can be installed in the case. And even then, probably only during the initial startup-surge (just after turning it on).
     

Share This Page