Problems with Safari

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by anastasis, Mar 10, 2005.

  1. anastasis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #1
    So I have not been able to use Safari on my Mac for quite some time. I have a G5 PowerMac and whenever I try to launch Safari it unexpectadly quits. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling several times and the problem has never cleared up, including after running all of the latest updates for Mac OS X. Any ideas or similair problems?

    Thanks
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    That sucks big time!

    OK, it's an obvious one but have you repaired permissions?

    How about deleting the Safari prefs?
     
  3. MmmPancakes macrumors 6502

    MmmPancakes

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #3
    That really does suck. The fact that you've installed and reinstalled is kind of weird. Personally, I would recommend using Firefox, but I know if something doesn't work right on my machines I can't sleep at night. Check the settings on the prefs..maybe set the back to default.
     
  4. Thomas Veil macrumors 68020

    Thomas Veil

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    Reality
    #4
    Only time I've ever seen this behavior is when you try to launch a program that requires a higher operating system, i.e., trying to launch a program that requires 10.3 when you only have Jaguar (10.2).

    I know you said you have a G5, but is it possible you've installed the latest Safari update but you don't have the latest Panther update?

    Edit: I just saw you said you have the latest OS X updates.

    I dunno, that's a puzzler. Have you tried trashing the Safari .plist? It's in your Home>Library>Preferences folder. You can remove the Safari program, but you might still be holding onto a corrupt preferences file.

    That's all I can think of. :(
     
  5. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #5
    Try running "preferential Treatment" It scans all pref file to see if they are corrupt.
     

Share This Page