Problems with VPC 5 and 6

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by rampel, Apr 14, 2003.

  1. rampel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    #1
    I am on a 9600 + a Sonnet G4 800 Mhz processor, OS 9.2.2, 1.5 Gig Ram, plenty of disk space.

    When I try to launch VPC 5 or 6 my machine freezes, the only way out is a re-boot.

    Any ideas / advice welcome

    (P.S. I know that Officially connectix say their VPC 5/6 will run only on Native G3/4's. What I'm looking for a "workaround" to run those on my machine)

    :confused:
     
  2. mdeschenes macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    #2
    I understand and sympathize with your frustration. I have a DP 1.25 with 1 Gig. Ram. I loaded VPC 6 DOS and added my own copy of Win 98. I allocated nearly 500 megs RAM and upped VRAM to 16 mb. I closely followed instructions for loading and optimizing. Unfortunately, it crashes.... a lot.

    What WinSystem are you using? How much Ram are you allocating. I found than Win Me and XP were absolutely brutal to run. Exceptionally slow and they crashed a lot as well. I am beginning to think that VPC is not quite ready yet.

    Presently, I cannot get my mac modem (internal) to work efficiently on VPC. It is exceptionally slow, despite being on a regular phone line. It is loading at rates on tenth the usual (when used with Mac only). I have tried resetting the commands and options both through Win 98 and VPC options. No better.

    Moral of the story... use only if really required and with great patience. I plan to dump the whole thing and wait for a far more efficient and stable VPC to come out. If lucky, a smaller software package that can translate WordPerfect and other of my PC documents will come out before then.

    Hope this helps.
    Mike
     
  3. rampel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    #3
    VPC 5 & 6 problems

    Thanks for your reply Mike.

    I cannot answer your question which Windows I use because my VPC NEVER gets to the stage where it looks for a Drive Image!

    It gets stuck (frozen) as soon as I click it. The mouse doesn't move, no keyboard commands accepted - nothing, Nada.

    I have to reboot to get out of it

    :eek:
     
  4. kiwi_the_iwik macrumors 65816

    kiwi_the_iwik

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    Currently, the only workaround that I might be able to suggest is to upgrade to OSX.2 - for a start, you won't get the constant crashes that you get under OS9.2...

    Good luck...
     
  5. rampel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003

Share This Page