Processor Model Numbers

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Nutzoids, Nov 17, 2003.

  1. Nutzoids macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Location:
    Philly
    #1
    I am looking for Model numbers for Apples G4 series Processors. I was trying to order just the Processor but it seems next to impossible. I thought that Motorola PowerPC 7451 was enough info...I mean how many people use Motorola processors...Apple uses them the most...you'd think there employees would just know. I mean if I worked for them I would go out of my way to know... Then again that's just me...


    Oh yeah the reason I'm writing this...sorry...If anyone knows the model numbers...for any speed, dual or not...please let me know.

    Thank you all!
     
  2. themadchemist macrumors 68030

    themadchemist

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Location:
    Chi Town
    #2
    i think there is a chart on moto's web site...just search for it, it's not too hard to find.

    just wonderin'...what will you be able to do with these processors? if you don't have the right mobo, will it be of any use?
     
  3. Doraemon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Location:
    Europe (EU)
  4. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    These are the different model numbers that have been available along with the version numbers...

    http://e-www.motorola.com/files/archives/doc/support_info/PPCPVR.pdf

    This is an example of the various part numbers available for production tape packs

    http://e-www.motorola.com/files/shared/doc/pcn/PCN9041.htm

    I'd look on the Motorola page in the processor family then look down at the oderable part, some are discontinued

    http://e-www.motorola.com/webapp/sps/site/prod_summary.jsp?code=MPC7451&nodeId=03C1TR046708718653

    and you'll see stuff like the XPC7451RX600LG are phase out in Dec 2003.
     
  5. manitoubalck macrumors 6502a

    manitoubalck

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    If your looking for a replacement proc Sonnet is the way to go.
     
  6. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #6
    An Apple's computers don't use bare processors in a socket, so people generally will be confused by your question.

    The "upgradeable models" use a cpu daughtercard that contains cache, CPU, misc circuits, and a power supply circuit.

    While G4 CPUs are supposed to be drop in replacements for each other, there may be some changes in power supply voltages (or I/O voltages) and resistor settings that would make it a PIA besides the soldering.

    As manitoubalck said, look at a processor upgrade solution.
     

Share This Page