Processor Speed on Intel Core Duo (Windows on Mac Test)

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by truz, Apr 23, 2006.

  1. truz macrumors 6502a

    truz

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    Seems as if CPU-Z is reading two 1000mh cores. I thought the core duo was two 2.0gh cores? Is this an error on the software or is this a dual core 1gh machine?
     
  2. Airforce macrumors 6502a

    Airforce

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
  3. truz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    truz

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
  4. ewinemiller macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Location:
    west of Philly
    #4
    It's throttled down, if your CPUs aren't doing much, XP will slow them down to give you more battery life. It's perfectly normal. As soon as you need them, XP will speed them back up.
     
  5. truz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    truz

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    Alright,

    Thats good to know :) I was a little worried at first. Makes sense tho. Thanks
     
  6. Nar1117 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #6
    Does it go straight down to 1000 from 2000 or does it go sequentially, like 1900...1750...1450...1150..1000?

    This doesnt really matter, im just curious.
     
  7. truz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    truz

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    #7

    Stays at 1000.0MHz, 1001.0MHz, 999.0Mhz, 2000.1MHz, back down to 1000-999. I did see 2000 tho when I loaded adobe ps on windows. I'm guessing what ewinemiller said is true as it only shows clock speeds of 2000 when its being used. It should not jump to 1900, 1700, ect.. like you have said, it should only stick to 1000 and 2000 when in use.
     

Share This Page