Processor temperature

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by frescies, Jul 12, 2003.

  1. frescies macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    hey... I've seen a buncha posts here regarding processor temperature measurements. I was wondering, what is the best free program to use to find your processor temperature? What do you guys use? Also, how do they work?

    I'd appreciate any suggestions :D

    David
     
  2. altivec 2003 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Re: Processor temperature

    Well, back when I was using my powermac 8500 with a 445 mhz g3 upgrade card from powerlogix, I used their program to monitor my cpu temperature, but now with my g4 I don't even bother. I am certainly not worried about my cpu termperature, but based on other people's responses I might choose to download a free program just for interest.
     
  3. funkywhat2 macrumors 6502a

    funkywhat2

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    #3
    Does the G4 even have the ability to report temperature? I always thought one needed special hardware to do that, like a thermal probe and special regulators and bords.

    Sorry for hijacking the thread, I'll give it back eventually. ;)
     
  4. wrc fan macrumors 65816

    wrc fan

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    In a world where LPs are made like pancakes
    #4
    I use the program, AquaMon , not only does it report the temp, but lots of other useful information as well.
     
  5. altivec 2003 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Yea, I imagine that the g4 would have to have special hardware installed because there is no other way for it to report temperature, but I am sure that the companies install that hardware even if it is only for them to test their chips.

    Thanks for the link, i'll check it out
     
  6. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #6
    I thought they took the temp thing out....

    What the hell does aquamon guess?
     
  7. wrc fan macrumors 65816

    wrc fan

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    In a world where LPs are made like pancakes
    #7
    Well, it doesn't work with newer systems, but it does work with the 7400s that are in my Cube and my friend's Dual G4. I don't know what the newest it will work with is.
     
  8. DakotaGuy macrumors 68040

    DakotaGuy

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    South Dakota, USA
    #8
    http://www.bresink.de/osx/TemperatureMonitor.html

    That might help you. It's just a small program that shows the current temp of the processor. Note you will need to read though and see if it will work with your processors. Some of the newer Moto G4's and IBM G3's don't even have temperature monitors built in so it cannot access them.

    My iMac DV 400 G3 runs between 36-40 C or 98.6-104F . I don't know how that compares to different processors. I know this is one of the convection cooled models with no fan. It's amazing that the G3's ran that cool enough not to need a fan!
     
  9. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #9
    Yeah no sensor...

    Meh, damn newish iMac (800)
     

    Attached Files:

  10. altivec 2003 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #10
    Re: Yeah no sensor...

    heh, well for some odd reason aquamon didn't even install on my computer cause it said something was wrong with my hard drive. Strange. I checked it out and it seemed fine. It gave a null error and I can't figure out why. I tried installing some other software afterwards and it worked fine. Hmpf. Anyway, I am gong to try temperature monitor. I really bet that the g5 will have a temperature probe because of all it's complex heat management and I think it would be a great idea for apple to include temperature information in the cpu monitor.
     
  11. altivec 2003 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    heh, this isn't much better. It says "operating system not supported". It wants to make me update to 10.2.5 from 10.2.4. I am reluctant cause I have a delicate setup with my version of maya...
     
  12. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #12
    all powermacs have (at least these days) got temp monitors. How does the mac adjust the fan for the heat? random guessing? that is the OS9 way of doing things.
     
  13. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #13
    Question

    How it possible to have a cooling system with a fan when the computer doesn't know how hot it is running.

    HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE?!?!:confused:
     
  14. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #14
    yes. some fans come with their own heat sensors. i know. my amd pc (ugly duckling - i got a pmg4) has one in it for the aussie summer. :D
    but with no heat sensor? means that it will always be at the same speed. the system doesn't need to know.
    the yellow cable on fans that you see? that is the wire for telling the system how fast it is running.
     

Share This Page