Processor upgrade question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by PaulB007, May 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PaulB007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #1
    Everywhere I go dis gets deleted, dun kno why. I am dead serious i need help. I run Intel iMac 2.0GHZ and I am not happy with CISC processor performance. I still have my G5 1.8GHZ Imac. I want to use PowerPC RISK processor. I took off processor chips from mother board with soldering iron and switched chips around even though there was a big gap i used more solder to fill it. computer will not start. what do i do, because i want RISK performance on my Imac. Thx
     
  2. jamesi macrumors 6502a

    jamesi

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Davis CA
    #2
    ahahahaha, i dont know if this is for real or not
     
  3. CoMpX macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #3
    This has got to be a joke....sooooooo funnny I mean I have never ever EVER seen anything like this before. Original man, nice. ;) :rolleyes:
     
  4. PaulB007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #4
    PLZ IM NOT KIDDING
    i really need help and serious answers are appreciated i dun know what to do when i tried booting a few chips melted on mother board, where can i purchase these chips at cheap prices :confused: :confused: :confused:
     
  5. yankeefan24 macrumors 65816

    yankeefan24

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    On the off chance this is not a joke…

    Your broke your computer, and voided the warrantee. I do know a solution, get a new one.
     
  6. PaulB007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #6
    OMFG PLZ HELP ME IM SERIOUS
     
  7. jhu macrumors 6502a

    jhu

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    #7
    i have a bridge that you might be interested in...
     
  8. PaulB007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #8
    Thx for reply, but is there any way i can just buy new chips and fix on my own i cant afford a new RISK processor :confused: :confused: :confused:
     
  9. yankeefan24 macrumors 65816

    yankeefan24

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    I don't think so. Maybe someone else knows, but to my knowledge, you can only get apple parts from apple. The MoBo needs a special chip, which you can only get from apple. Sorry.
     
  10. PaulB007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #10
    someone just told me if i do firewire target mode the mother board will be overriden and i can run CPU, how do i do this target mode so my computer will function again? :confused:
     
  11. PaulB007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #11
    o does anyone have a new Power PC RISK processor that i can buy for cheap i want to try this again i think i may have put in the chip backwards or something maybe it will run once i solder melted chips back in and put in RISK processor correct way
     
  12. CoMpX macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #12
    It still uses the logic board. First of all, you are really stupid. So, a chip doesn't fir what do you do? FILL IT INNN WITTHH SOLD00RRZZZZZZ.

    You have destroyed your computer, and I wouldn't get a knew one if I were you.
     
  13. disconap macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #13
    Put them back, hope they work, sell both and buy the machine you want.
     
  14. PaulB007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #14
    what is a logic board, is it similar to a RISK processor? If so where can i find one for cheap and solder it into board
     
  15. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #15
    Do you have pics?

    You shouldn't mess around with trying to just solder chips on to a mobo :rolleyes:

    And getting a new one won't solve the problem.

    And without pics, its going to be hard to believe you were so short sighted to attempt this without knowing if it could work in the first place. If you don't post pics, the thread will be closed.

    D
     
  16. PaulB007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #16
    ok i will take pics give me 20 min or less
     
  17. PaulB007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #17
    enclosed in this message is a jpg image of some of the burned and melted chips on board
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #18
    Bye bye, time to buy a new machine.

    Almost looks like a flaming DIMM.
     
  19. CoMpX macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #19
    This is RAM, not a chip. Please forgive me if I am wrong, but I really don't think you are for real. Please stop wasting bandwidth.



    God, I gotta stop being such a tight-ass. This is fun! :D
     
  20. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #20
    Hey everyone, gullible is written on the ceiling!
     
  21. PaulB007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #21
    ram is melted as well i think and i never seen ram that looked like that this is real
     
  22. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #22
    post a pic of the burnt mobo - last chance

    pics of the two iMacs as well

    D
     
  23. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #23
    Only when I see an actual picture of you trying to jam a PowerPC processor into an Intel socket will I believe a word you say.

    By the way, it's RISC, not RISK.

    Troll.
     
  24. CoMpX macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #24
    OK, here's what you do. Remove the current processor off of the logic board. The logic board is another name for the motherboard. You can hammer and chisel if necessary to remove the chip. Then out the chips back in there respective machines, because you can't use an Intel chip in a PowerPC Mac or vice versa. Then, dunk the machines in water for better cooling. Round off the edges of the power plug that plugs into the back so that it can be inserted upside down, and plug the machine in. Step on the keyboard until it turns on, and boot into Mac OS X. It may help if you then repair permissions.
     
  25. PaulB007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #25
    OH GOD I BEEN SAYING IT WRONG THE WHOLE TIME
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page