Profiles

Discussion in 'Community' started by job, Jan 8, 2003.

1. job macrumors 68040

job

This topic has probably been done before, but I'm tired of seeing some forum member complain that his/her occupational standards exceed the hardware offered by Apple.

The point of this thread is to profile the hardware needs (i.e. ideal set-up) for professionals and casual users alike.

Beginning with your current computer set-up and including your dream-set up, followed by your current occupation and demands it places on your hardware (including hobbies, i.e. casual PHP/MySQL coding etc.) and what, if anything, there is you could possibly do to optimize your work/play environment. Or, alternatively, a machine that Apple could release that you would be interested in purchasing.

I'll start it off.

I'm currently a full-time student with a weekly part-time job.

My current computer set up, although dated (iMac 400Mhz, 512 MB RAM) nevertheless fufills my needs for a digital jukebox (Altec Lansing 2100s), internet machine, word processor, and casual gaming machine. I use Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Fireworks, and BBEdit for light HTML work. As a result, the most intensive app on my computer would probably be Return to Castle Wolfenstein.

My dream-set up would be a new desktop, probably a tower with a decent GPU (I have yet to experience Quartz Extreme!) as I would like more expansion room for college. Most likely I would go for the base-line as money plays a part.

My profile is a bit brief, but I thought this thread could be useful so MR forum users might be able to understand the situations of other Mac users who critique Apple's decisions, hardware and otherwise.

2. Dignan macrumors 6502a

Dignan

Full time student, film club, etc.

Anything that renders quickly, and holds lots of footage. (For now is 800mhz 1gig powerbook, 60 gig drive, and Dual 800 tower, two 80 gig drives, 768 ram, 17 inch screen)

3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

edesignuk