Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Kriskris

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 15, 2012
Hello,

Apologies but i am a complete graphic design novice! Basically I'm looking for a program that is relatively simple to learn that i will be able to design high quality signs on for my business. Additional uses would be logo design and also flyer, brochure design.

There is such a vast amount of expensive programs out there i don't want to bite the bullet and pay an arm and a leg for the wrong software! Help would be appreciated.

Many thanks,

- Kris

YESimBLUNTED

macrumors member
Apologies but i am a complete graphic design novice! Basically I'm looking for a program that is relatively simple to learn that i will be able to design high quality signs on for my business. Additional uses would be logo design and also flyer, brochure design.

When you don't even know what programs to use, all I can say is good luck.:rolleyes:
Logo design your going to want to use a vector program, most use Adobe Illustrator. You can also create other graphics for your flyers, etc. but I wouldn't use it to create the final product.

Photoshop will probably also be needed for your raster items, such as photos and what not.

You may also want to get InDesign for your layout program and to ready the files for output (print).

There is such a vast amount of expensive programs out there i don't want to bite the bullet and pay an arm and a leg for the wrong software! Help would be appreciated.

If your serious about design, this will inevitably happen. Although lucky for you, all those programs can be bought separately or Adobe has a bundle with them all in it (Design Premium I believe).

Are you planning on doing the work or just having it ready for a real graphic artist/designer to use?

Kriskris

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 15, 2012