Programs into Dashboard

Discussion in 'macOS' started by The General, Aug 8, 2006.

  1. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #1
    Okay, I know it's possible to get the widgets out of the dashboard by running:

    defaults write com.apple.dashboard devmode YES

    In the Terminal, but how can I get regular windows into the Dashboard?



    Why is this useful? Because the Yahoo Widget Engine has some cool widgets that I'd like to be in the Dashboard instead of out all the time. That, and I'd also like a couple programs like WireTap to be in the Dashboard.

    If you have time, help me search Google, I've already been searching for a week or so now, haven't found much. I would really appreciate some help here.:eek:
     
  2. ljump12 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    philadelphia
    #2
    i think its a new feaurre their integrating into leopard.... but its not out yet...
     
  3. projectle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    #3
    I have been looking for that for quite some time but have yet to find anything useful to place normal applications on the Dashboard.

    What I have found is that when one attempts to edit the plist for Dashboard in an attempt to do this, they can get something to "show up" but when they close dashboard it does not really stay solely in Dashboard but is keyed as a Dashboard app.

    What I mean, you send a program to Dashboard, it is there as normal, you close dashboard and it does not move.
    It was really just a normal program running on your desktop but the grey that normally covers your desktop does not appear over this one window in Dashboard.

    I will look up the info that I found on it (it was about 6-7 months ago) and post it up here in the morning.
     
  4. The General thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
  5. The General thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #5

Share This Page