PROMISE Announces First 20Gbps Thunderbolt 2 RAID Arrays

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Oct 24, 2013.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Following Apple's launch of MacBook Pro models equipped with Thunderbolt 2 ports, PROMISE Technology has announced new Thunderbolt 2 RAID systems for users needing the fastest possible storage.

    The company says its Pegasus2 line of RAID arrays allow for simultaneous transfer and display of 3D and 4K video files. It will work with the new MacBook Pro with Retina display, as well as the new Mac Pro when it launches this December.

    [​IMG]
    PROMISE will be offering the Pegasus2 in 8TB, 12TB, 18TB, 24TB and 32TB capacities through the Apple Online Store and elsewhere, though the systems -- and pricing -- are not yet live on the Apple Store.

    The company also announced the SANLink2, aThunderbolt 2 bridge that provides dual 8Gbps Fibre Channel ports for connection to other RAID systems. Both the SANLink2 and the new Pegasus2 line are fully backwards compatible with the Thunderbolt 1 ports in older Apple devices.

    Thunderbolt 2 was announced earlier this year by Intel and both the new MacBook Pro and the upcoming Mac Pro will include it. The connection enables two 20Gbps bidirectional channels, allowing 4K video to travel over a single cable and theoretical transfer rates of 800-900MB/s for storage arrays. This is roughly twice as fast as Thunderbolt 1. It is aimed at high-end video editors and users who need the ultimate in expansion capabilities.

    Update: PROMISE has now provided MacRumors with pricing details on the forthcoming Pegasus2 RAID storage arrays:

    - Pegasus2 R4 (4-bay): 4x2TB $1499
    - Pegasus2 R6 (6 bay): 6x2TB $2299, 6x3TB $2999
    - Pegasus2 R8 (8-bay): 8x3TB $3599, 8x4TB $4599

    Article Link: PROMISE Announces First 20Gbps Thunderbolt 2 RAID Arrays
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    cmChimera

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #2
    Only costs your soul and one kidney.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    UnionVGF

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    #3
    I can't imaging how bad the pricing out of most consumers will be with these.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #4
    going to be ridiculously expensive:(
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    What does that equate to in "first borns"?
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #6
    Awesome. Wish the refreshed iMac had Thunderbolt 2 ports, just doesn't make sense with the macbook refreshes and mac pro
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    Supa_Fly

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #7
    Down deposit for the full TB2 SAN farm?
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #8
    Let's see... current model with 4 drives is $1000. New one, what, maybe $1500?
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    #9
    I don't see why they should be more expensive than TB1 versions unless intel is charging a lot more for TB2 controllers. R4 with 8TB should be around 1500$ imho.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Davmeister

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #10
    I am so done with the absolute inevitability of people complaining on these threads about Thunderbolt accessory prices; shall I make it clear:

    You can use the cheaper more ubiquitous USB 3 port instead - you have an option & it is not there for joe blow consumer - it is 'pro' tech, for editors and so on, and will therefore cost more...as all pro tech does!
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    northernmunky

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Location:
    London, Taipei
    #11
    I still haven't used my Thunderbolt 1 port for anything yet.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    #12
    I agree, it's BS that the new iMac doesn't have thunderbolt 2. I guess they wanted to distinguish the "pro" machines.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #13
    Thats it?
     
  14. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    #14
    I can't imagine how anyone would think this product is aimed at "consumers".
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    Cuban Missles

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Location:
    My heart is in Camagüey, the rest in the USA
    #15
    The Mac Pro ain't cheap and this won't be either. I cannot imagine this being something for the home. Applications needing that level of speed and that amount of storage, probably are funded well enough to afford this.

    Mac Pro (with upgrade) = $6,000
    4k Monitors = $3000
    RAID Array with 32TB = "first born"

    Being able to store all the cute cat videos = Priceless
    :D:D
     
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Location:
    Germany
    #16
    Thinkin' about giving my second car for the 32TB model... ;)
     
  17. macrumors 68020

    guzhogi

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Location:
    Wherever my feet take me…
    #17
    Kinda wish that, too, along with both the iMacs & TB Display updated to retina/4K.

    I wonder what max throughput is on these? How many would we need to saturate a TB 2 connection?
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #18
    I've used TB1 a few times. To plug my ethernet to TB adapter because I couldn't connect to WiFi.
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #19
    TB 2 and TB 1

    Basic question about thunderbolt.

    Not that I have any interest in buying one of these arrays, but I'm curious about TB technology. Can you use a thunderbolt 1 port with a thunderbolt 2 device? Obviously you would only have TB1 speed, but are the devices backward compatible, like usb?

    I have a rMBP with TB1, and am starting to feel left behind already!

    Same goes with a new thunderbolt display (if apple ever makes one!). I'm sure the new display will be TB2. So will I be able to use it with TB1 . . . again, obviously at a lower resolution, but will it work?

    thanks
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #20
    From my understanding, if you wanted to boot windows from an external drive, no you can't. I'm sure there are other limitations other than speed and this one that makes USB3 not an option.
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    #21
    These are made for professionals and the types of people that need this type of system spend $$$ and they don't blink an eye. They are the same crowd that will spend $50K to $150K on a 4K camera and buy several of them. You know, the film production companies.
     
  22. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #22
    I'll most likely wait for TBX to come out in 2017. Will be able to transfer 1TB each way simultaniously.

    ----------

    Yes, it works similar to USB. You just limit your throughput.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Nunyabinez

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    #23
    But... but... I use a computer at work to do spreadsheets, so since I make money with my computer doesn't that make me a Pro user? ;)

    The people who "need" these kinds of peripherals are willing to pay these prices because it translates into a real return in terms of faster rendering, or loading, etc. The rest of us just want them, like we want a Ferrari, but can't afford it and definitely don't need it.
     
  24. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #24
    Actually they do. They'll negotiate lower prices so they don't have to pay full MSRP. Everyone is looking to 'save' money. Even the rich people.

    My boss negotiated his 911 Turbo S. Even got 3 years of service included at no extra charge.
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Location:
    Germany
    #25
    Without drives...

    "PROMISE will be offering the Pegasus2 in 8TB, 12TB, 18TB, 24TB and 32TB capacities"

    Thought about buying the TB1 Version.. (didn't come free of hard drives).
    This time around the same overpriced ("you need OUR hard drives!")- policy?

    :confused:
     

Share This Page