ProRes with QT 7.6.6, FCE 4.0.1 and Mpeg Streamclip

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Mr_Brightside_@, Mar 10, 2012.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    below Ash Tree Lane
    #1
    Hey all,
    In attempting to export footage from a 5dmkii as ProRes footage for editing in FCE, I found that neither Streamclip nor QT Pro 7.6.6 have the ProRes format as an option. Any ideas if this can work? I'm under the impression that it can. I have the AppleProResDecoder component installed in /System/Library/QuickTime, version 1.0 currently.
    Thanks!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Final Cut Express does NOT support the ProRes codec, it uses the Apple Intermediate Codec instead, which should be an option for Compression in MPEG Streamclip.

    But if you use Final Cut Pro and not FCE:

    I recently edited a short film with Canon 5D Mark II footage and had better results with the following application:
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #3
    i recall being able to download the codec from apple's website...
    that was about 2 months ago. That might be just to play it tho...
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    This perhaps? But will FCE work with that?
     
  5. macrumors demi-god

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    A playback only version has been available for a while, but to get the encoder I think you need to have one of Apples ProApps. You could pay $50 for Motion or Compressor to get access to the codec but, like simsaladimbamba, I don't know how well it will work w/FCE (if at all).

    Being a ProApps update I don't know if it will work w/o having a qualifying app installed.
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    I could however extract the codecs via Pacifist and was able to play a ProRes encoded video file in a Lion VM (which does not have any of the Pro Apps installed, as shown below).

    It will not work via the installer though:
    [​IMG]
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    below Ash Tree Lane
    #7
    Hey all, thanks for the input.

    As simsaladimbamba noted the ProApps version is meant for, well, Pro Apps. That said, I believe I have redemption codes for them all somewhere, and may use them simply to get at the codec for use with Streamclip and then (hopefully) editing in Express. I'll post back results about that later.

    Can anybody weigh in on personal usage of AIC?

    Best
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #8
    AIC is okay. The sizes are crazy 36GB per hour compared to 12GB per hour for mpeg2 stuff.
    As long as you are using a firewire drive or internal 2nd drive, it's great. It's just really big.
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    NY State
    #9
    I used AIC when for whatever reason my ProRes encoder plugins or whatever weren't functioning. No issues or lessoned quality...though if I were editing a master piece to broadcasted in 1080p and thrown on BluRays I'd probably make a point to use the highest bit rate ProRes 422 if I were using a DSLR.
     

Share This Page