Proxy server?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by excalibur313, Oct 9, 2003.

  1. excalibur313 macrumors 6502a

    excalibur313

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #1
    I was wondering if anyone could tell me how to set up a proxy server. I'm at college and the itc guy here only has a handfull of ports open, none of which allow me to acess news groups or use programs like bit torrent. I was told that if i set up a proxy server at my house (off campus) i can run everything through that computer. One small problem is that computer is a pc running xp and my computer at college is a powerbook. Any help would be appreciated.
    thanks,
    Excalibur313
     
  2. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #2
    Re: Proxy server?

    -excalibur313

    If you are off campus, why is any of this even an issue?
     
  3. excalibur313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    excalibur313

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #3
    i'm not but my real house is. (Eg: where my family lives).
     
  4. excalibur313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    excalibur313

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #4
    does anyone know how to do this?
    thanks
    excalibur313
     
  5. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #5
    -excalibur313

    I think we need a little more information here.

    If you are on campus, the IT will actually let you set up your own Proxy?!?

    If you are off campus - and therefore out of the school's jurisdiction and control, why does this matter?

    The pieces don't fit as you've stated as far.
     
  6. Lanbrown macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    #6
    Patrick,

    He is on campus and they have certain ports blocked. He wants access to them so he wants to setup a proxy server at where his parents live so he can use that to access what he currently cannot.

    Excalibur313,

    What kind of connection do your parents have? How often does the IP address change? What is the upstream rate they have? Do they have a firewall? Can you do PAT (assign a specific port to an internal address) on the firewall? Is their peecee always on?
     
  7. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #7
    Not if it's Windows... okay... jokes over... it wasn't even funny... but sometimes you do things so other people can get on with their lives.
     
  8. excalibur313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    excalibur313

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #8
    my parents use road runner which is a cable connection. The computer will be located in my real room (eg at my real house) and it is only used sometimes by my sister and my mom when my dad is in the office and the nice computer is unavailable. It will be very easy to keep it on all the time, All I'll have to do is tell them.
    Thanks,
    Excalibur313
     
  9. excalibur313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    excalibur313

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #9
    no firewall on the pc. I can transfer information at about 200-500kbs (no caps imposed by rr)
     
  10. Lanbrown macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    #10
    It can be done, but if anyone else discovers it (not hard to do) then they could use your system to mask who they really are. All activities will be shown to come from your connection and could be held liable. You need to find some proxy server software, try download.com
     
  11. excalibur313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    excalibur313

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #11
    is there anyway to encrypt it or password it so that this won't happen
     

Share This Page