PS3 Blu-Ray Playback

Discussion in 'Games' started by sikkinixx, Feb 15, 2007.

  1. sikkinixx macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #1
    I was about to buy a BR movie today (Kingdom of Heaven) but I noticed it only mentions 1080p and 480p/i. Does this mean I can't play it 1080i or 720p? My Samsung only does 480i/p, 720p, and 1080i....

    I don't wanna buy a movie only to find i can only watch it in 480p :p

    I got it hooked up via DVI so the hdcp thing shouldnt be a problem.
     
  2. darkwing macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #2
    It'll downscale the video playback, I believe. Don't put the BD disc in your Wii. It'll burst into flames.
     
  3. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #3
    Um :rolleyes:
     
  4. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    Eek. I'm not paying €30 for a movie for 480p. Hell any dvd player with component can give you 480p and they cost what ? €35 ($50)

    I'd be seriously pi*sed if I had spent €1500 on a BD player and then the movie was only 480p.
     
  5. sikkinixx thread starter macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
  6. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #6
    Well you know what you need to do? Get a 2nd job and buy a 1080p TV. Jeez, don't you have any discipline?

    Out of curiosity. Do we get native 576p in Europe? Just the quality difference between our US and UK versions of Roseanne is quite large.
     
  7. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    Since American shows are originally SD NTSC then there is no such things a a native 576p Roseanne ;)
     
  8. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    PAL is higher resolution/quality than NTSC. NTSC just has a better refresh rate.
     
  9. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #9
    You'd think that! But there is noticable quality differences. One scene theres a car at night with a sliver of white light running down in. PAL version it's smooth, NTSC version it's kinda blocky, like badly AA 3D, infact it happens anywhere that a contrasting line appears diagonally. Motion is kinda funny too, something moving at a constant speed will occasionally stutter on the NTSC.
     
  10. darkwing macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #10
    No matter the format or country, Roseanne is always quite large.
     
  11. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11
    Probably due to american companies wanting to save money they kept lower quality versions of the shows. Similar to the way you can get 360 minutes onto a 180 minute VHS tape.

    Similar to why older TV shows on Sky digital are clearly worse quality than the original broadcasts and newer shows.
     
  12. Coded-Dude macrumors 6502a

    Coded-Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #12
    It should play in 1080i fine, thats what I watch my movies in.
    I noticed when I had my PS3 set to 720p it would play movies(with the 420p/1080p mark) at 420p.
     
  13. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #13
    420p :confused: What crazy assed PS3 do you have ? :p
     
  14. darkwing macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #14
    C-D bought the ps2.7
     
  15. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #15
    Oh the one with the AHD (Almost Hi Def) drive, Aquamarine-Ray?
     
  16. Coded-Dude macrumors 6502a

    Coded-Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #16

    Um its a limitation with my TV(only supporting 1080i) and the BD disc not supporting 720p
    Has nothing to do with teh PS3.......:D

    From my experience BD movies that only have 420p/1080p on teh box will only play in teh following resolutions
    420p/1080i/1080p
     
  17. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #17
    Actually it does as the XBOX can display a HD-DVD in 720p and 1080i.

    (Well i'm pretty sure it can anyway)
     
  18. Coded-Dude macrumors 6502a

    Coded-Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #18
    then there is more than likely a firmware coming.......:eek:
     
  19. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #19
    err I think you missed my sarcasm there mate. 480p ;) :D
     
  20. jdechko macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #20
    I was thinking that too. :)

    I hope this whole thing isn't going to be a problem. I guess I never thought about the upscaling/downscaling as an issue of encoded content on the disc, but rather an issue of disc player and/or TV.

    Hmm... just another reason for me to hold off on making the jump.
     
  21. Coded-Dude macrumors 6502a

    Coded-Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #21
    lol...totally missed that until I read that post :eek:
     
  22. Meyvn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    #22
    Okay, just let me say right now: the PS3 will play ALL Blu-ray discs currently in existence at 480p, 720p, 1080i, and 1080p. 1080p is listed on the disc because it is the MAX resolution. That's it. It will play on a 720p set or a 1080i set JUST fine. Hell, if you see a TV that's 1080i and not 1080p, it's probably really just a 720p set that will take a 1080i input and downscale it to 720p anyway. Seeing something in true 1080i is pretty much restricted to watching HDTV on a true 1080p set.
     
  23. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #23
    You'll only have issues if your TV does NOT support 1080i, as far as I know. Otherwise things should be fine.
     
  24. Coded-Dude macrumors 6502a

    Coded-Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #24
    It shoudl play in 1080i jsut fine mate.
    Unless you have your PS3 set to 720p for hwich it will scale to 420p.
    This is only temporary, and SHOULD be addressed when DVD upscaling is.....
    (its not a matter of if it will get fixed, its when)

    I don't ahve that movie personally, but all my other movies play in 1080i just fine.
    But again, teh PS3 can't be set to 720p.

    My Movies:
    Transporter 1 & 2
    Talledega Nights (duh olol...)
    Invcinvible
    Young Guns
    Punisher
    Underworld Evolution

    I also watched Superman Returns via rental/loan.
     
  25. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #25
    Correct me if I'm wrong...

    PS3 doesn't do scaling, so BD movies play:

    1080i/p on 1080i/p sets
    480p on 720p sets
    480i/p on 480i/p sets

    The PS3 software upgrade is supposed to start scaling but I don't think the Blu-ray specs have any movies playing at 720p. The player downscales to 480p and then your set will upscale to 720p.

    That's the breaks for Blu-ray, man...

    Now, if you had the XB360 HD DVD drive....:eek:
     

Share This Page