PS3 Eye camera on a mac

Discussion in 'OS X' started by nkj575, Jul 14, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #1
    anybody here using the PS3 eye on a mac , i have seen reviews that say it works with the maccamm drivers i wanted to know if the mic works too , any info would be greatly appreciated. amazon seems to be selling them for a good price and i wanted to know if it works correctly on a mac
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    #2
    PS3 Eye Cam on OSX works with macam

    Snag the latest macam app and it works fine. Has a standalone app, as well as a plugin to use it with any other cam apps that support quicktime.

    http://webcam-osx.sourceforge.net/

    Cheers

    z
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Luap

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    #3
    Maccam can be handy for things like this, so do try it if you already have the webcam.
    However, going on past experience, maccam can be flaky to say the least.

    If you don't already have the webcam, then try looking for any UVC compliant webcam. These will work on OS X (10.4.9 onwards I think) with no drivers needed, as OS X supports all UVC cams natively. Performance and dependability will be miles better than you'd get via any webcam using Maccam drivers. Even the Xbox 360 cam is UVC compliant, so will work. Its pretty cheap too. Im not sure if it has a mic though? Still, plenty of other UVC cams to check out.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    Joinville/SC/Brazil
    #4
    Only Works on iChat (Leopard, not Snow) w/ iUSBCam 2.2.5 and Macam 0.92

    Microphone worked fine on my Mac Mini 2009 and 13" Macbook Pro 2009 with standard OS X system drivers on both 10.5.x and 10.6.2, nothing needed to be downloaded or installed regarding sound.

    For Video to work on either Leopard and Snow Leopard I had to download and install the Macam 0.9.2 driver from http://webcam-osx.sourceforge.net/downloads.html. Even though I could get video feeds from the PS3 eye with the Macam App and/or the Macam Quicktime component, I also had to download and install iUSBCam from http://www.ecamm.com/mac/iusbcam in order to have it working on Leopard's iChat. Did not test it with Skype or other comm software. Tried but it did not work with PhotoBooth at all.

    PLEASE NOTE: iChatUSB currently (Dec 22, 2009) does not work on Snow Leopard, so if you are willing to use it with iChat on Snow, better look for another solution.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #5
    bit of a old post but i'm trying to get the PS3 eye camera to work on facetime on my mac but it's saying camera not connected... i've downloaded and installed that maccam software and it's working through that but not on facetime.... any suggestions please??


    Cheers
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    #6
    PS3 EYE on Mac Mini

    This worked perfect, I wanted to use it for skype and it honestly took less than a minute to set up and get it working

    Thanks
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    #7
    problem on using macam in applications

    I have downloaded macam and installed it properly , and also copied the component file to the quicktime but still i'm able to use it any any kind of application like skype or oovoo ... in none of them it works ... plz guide me what do i have to do

    ----------

    guys i have downloaded the macam 0.9.2 installed it and also copied the component file into quicktime but still i'm not able to use the cam in any kind of applications like skype or oovoo or yahoo , what am i supposed to do ??
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    #8
    Macam.0.9.2 didn't work with rMBP (late 2013)

    Hi,

    Just to mention that macam.0.9.2 didn't work with the PS3 Eye camera on a rMBP 2013 laptop.

    When I hit the "play" button, a still image of the camera is displayed, the fps indicator fluctuates but the image is not updated - it's frozen. Shortly afterwards, the application crashed.

    Furthermore, the web site's links for reporting bugs doesn't work, so I couldn't even report the bug.

    Nikos
     

Share This Page