Putting an .avi onto a DVD?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by debo, Mar 27, 2004.

  1. debo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    #1
    How to do it? I was gonna use iDVD but it said that it couldn't do it with an avi. Then I was gonna use toast and it said that the disk wasn't big enough. It said that it needed a 4.7 Gb disk and that this one is only a 4.4 Gb, even though it says 4.7 Gb on it.
     
  2. CharlieBoy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Location:
    London UK
    #2
    Me Too!!

    I've been having the same problem, have you had any luck?
     
  3. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    I take it you want this .avi to be able to play on a set top DVD player.

    How long is the movie?

    I'm pretty sure Quicktime Pro will convert .avi to .mov or .dv so that you can a.) edit it and b.) export it to iDVD.

    A 4.7GB disk probably ends up being 4.4GB or so after it's formatted. You always lose some space in formatting. A 120GBdrive ends up being closer to 111. You have to allow for that.
     
  4. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #4
    If an avi is 700 megs, remember toast and iDVD both still have to convert it to mpeg2 for DVD. I believe iDVD will only burn 2 hours to a disk, and I'm unsure of Toast. Neither will burn widescreen correctly.

    An alternative method to QTPro is checking if you can drag the avi into iMovie and exporting it from there as DV. Also make sure you have the codec the avi is encoded with in your Quicktime codec folder. You have to be able to play the avi in QT before you can convert it.
     
  5. CharlieBoy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Location:
    London UK
    #5
    I'll give it all a go

    Yes I do want to play on set top dvd, avi size is 700mb, 4.7gb disk reduced to 4.4gb would suggest that 300mb's are used JUST for formatting? This seems a little extreme? I'm trying the import to imovie as we speak....I'll let you know what happens
    Thanks all
     
  6. Maclvr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #6
    you can also use Cleaner to change the format, i dont know what software you have. but if you have dvd studio pro 2 u dont need to export to .m2v the program will do it for you if u import a .mov file :)
     
  7. CharlieBoy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Location:
    London UK
    #7
    DVD Studio Pro2

    Hello All,

    Tried using DVD Studio Pro2...imported avi into it (took forever).....burnt a dvd from pro 2 (also burnt one using advanced burn -build and burn)...... both dvd's will not play although the information appears to be on the disc (I've opened individual segments with mplayer directly from the disc). Can anyone shed any light, maybe I'm doing something wrong in Studio Pro2?

    P.s Imovie was having none of it....
     
  8. BrianKonarsMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #8
    i get 4.2 on a 4.7 dvd.
     
  9. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #9
    It's not from formatting. It's because media manufacturers have a different definition of a GB than a computer's definition.

    Computer calculate 1 GB = 1024 MB = 1024*1024 KB = 1024*1024*1024 Bytes

    Media manufacturers use a "looser" term for GB. They say that 1 GB = 1000 MB = 1000*1000 KB = 1000*1000*1000 Bytes.

    So if you divide 1x10^9 by 1.07x10^9, you get 93%. Take 93% or 4.7 GB and you get 4.4 GB.

    That's why you get less space than advertised.
     
  10. TBR macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    Blackpool - England
    #10
    All you need if FFMPEG - Click the Fast DVD setting. Wait 3-4 hours and then burn the resulting disk image in toast. SORTED!!!
     
  11. CharlieBoy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Location:
    London UK
    #11
    Thanks

    I'll give ffmpeg a go.....see how I get on.....cheers everyone
     
  12. CharlieBoy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Location:
    London UK
    #12
    Where is the fast dvd button? Can't find it?!!!
     
  13. TBR macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    Blackpool - England
    #13
    its at the bottom in the presets. FFMPEG can be daunting as there is lots going on but the presets will do it all for yoou.

    The only problem I have found is that there can be an error tryiong to make the final disk image some times. All I do then is go to the last panel (options - DOING THIS FROM MEMORY) And tick the author as DVD box and then load the mpg you just created in the load up section above all the buttons on the right and then click on author and it will create a disk image for you then.


    OH and don't have any spaces in the folder names or the names of the files becouse this will mess it all up!
     
  14. CharlieBoy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Location:
    London UK
    #14
    In the Beginning...

    The Saga Continues.... ok went to quick presets, there was no option for fast dvd, there was fast vcd, low and high bitrate dvd, i went for high bitrate dvd and hit encode. It was all over in about 10 seconds (ping) no file to be seen anywhere??

    Just a little aside... does anyone know why this sound format won't play on Quicktime Pro 6.5 but will play in mplayer. Sample Rate 48000Hz. Stereo. Sample Size Unknown. Compression ms. Toast won't burn it because of an os problem. Is there a codec I can download for Quicktime?
     

Share This Page