Putting ATI Radeon 9000 into sawtooth... ADC *power* won't work, but will vga signal?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Sharky II, Apr 4, 2005.

  1. Sharky II macrumors 6502

    Sharky II

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Hi guys

    I know my sawtooth g4's mobo and power supply doesn't have the cable to send the power to the monitor, but does it still send a signal?

    What i want to do, is replace my ati 8500 (with big fanless heatsink on - i need to regain that pci slot back!!) with an ati 9000 64mb, and run TWO LCD's off it.

    One via DVI obviously, the other one via ADC->VGA (or dvi?) converter.

    Other than meaning i wouldn't be able to apple displays, does anyone know if this works?

    Thanks!

    Eddie
     
  2. Sharky II thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sharky II

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    also, same question applies to radeon 9800 pro 128mb

    thanks!
     
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    The 9800 does not have an ADC port, and therefore doesn't have that extra power connector. It does connect to the system power supply though, I believe that it's because the VPU itself draws more power than the AGP bus can supply.
     
  4. Sharky II thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sharky II

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    hi

    so the 9800 is just vga and dvi? that's cool. i think it's agp 2x as well, so that's ok with my sawtooth, slot it in and go?

    also, if anyone knows if i can use a ati 9000 with an adc -> dvi/vga converter to make use of that connection, that would be great!

    thanks guys

    edd
     
  5. Sharky II thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sharky II

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    hmmm.. bit worried about the power consumption of the 9800...

    i have 2 hd's, a 1.4ghz processor upgrade, a gigabit ethernet pci card, and need to have up to two audio dsp pci cards.... and then some usb stuff too! (altho these are all powered, or going into a powered hub).

    not sure if it would be safe on the 237watt sawtooth psu... although only the 9800 supports tiger properly...

    :confused: :confused: :confused:
     
  6. AstroManLuca macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #6
    The 9000 will work fine. The same applies to the Radeon 9600 Pro that many Quicksilver owners have started using. The ADC power connector on it doesn't line up with the Quicksilver's ADC power connector, so the ADC port can't power an Apple monitor. But it's still capable of carrying a signal since DVI and VGA don't require power like ADC does.
     
  7. Sharky II thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sharky II

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    brilliant!

    thanks for that, i will try to get a 128mb radeon 9000 - the 9800 supports tiger etc, but i'm too scared about the power consumption, what with all three pci slots in use, 2 hd's, and a 1.4ghz processor (albeit single... plus, the 9000 is passively cooled, good for my audio work)....

    if anyone is using a 9800 in a sawtooth, please let me know!
     
  8. Sharky II thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sharky II

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    lol.. ended up buying a radeon 9800pro off ebay heh

    thanks
     

Share This Page