Putting OS X10.5 on eMac running OS 8.6

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by jdbowerman, Sep 3, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #1
    I have an emac g3 running mac os 8.6 and i figured after a decade it was time to update it. Only one problem, the cd/dvd drive doesnt work, and it isnt recognizing my external dvd drive. So i have os x10.5 on a 16 gig thumb drive, I used windows to save it on the flash drive after formatting the flash drive HFS. When i put the flash drive in the mac it pops up and shows that there is osx.dmg on the disk, but mac doesnt know how to open it. , I also tried to boot from thumb drive holding down alt, c and every other key. So now that i atleast have the iso on the mac how can i extract it and run it. Is there an older isoprogram that will work on os8.6?
    ANY IDEAS PLEASE>>>>>
     
  2. Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #2
    10.5 will not install on a G3
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    mperkins37

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #3
    If it did install it would likely run severely handicapped.
    Buy a newer machine if you need OSX. G5's & 1st gen Intel Machines are relatively cheap, or buy new & be good for another 5-6 years.
     
  4. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #4
    Are you sure it's an eMac? If so they all had G4 processors and should be able to run Leopard providing you give them plenty of RAM. If it's an iMac G3 you may as well give up now. You're not going to get 10.5 running on there.
     
  5. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #5
    you need at least an 867 mhz cpu to even load Leopard.
     
  6. macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #6
    Yes, your hardware. :rolleyes:
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    AFAIK the original eMac shipped with 9.2.2 (dual'ed with 10.something), and there's never been an eMac running OS 8.... (So it probably is not an eMac)

    Don't get me wrong... this thing doesn't need Leopard, but... :D
     
  8. macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    It sounds like an iMac. If its got enough RAM it'd probably run 10.4 Tiger.

    That said a hardware update is probably the best idea ;).
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #9
    I have a 400MHZ iMac running Tiger. I got it free with 13GB and 128MB of RAM.

    To get it running I threw in 120GB drive (IDE/PATA - hard to find these days), more memory (320MB now), and upgrade OS.

    By the time you price that out, take a look at a mini. A refurb mini is $419 today. The keyboard and mouse can come over, but you would need to add a monitor.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    Simply copying a DMG will not make it bootable, you have to properly make the drive a bootable installer using Disk Utility.
     

Share This Page