Putting RAM in Macbook Pro Horror Story

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by korimickster, Mar 25, 2006.

  1. korimickster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #1
    Apple has pissed me off so bad.

    Have any of you tried to put RAM in your Macbook Pro? It is f*****g IMPOSSIBLE. The microscopic screws holding the cover in place are completely stripped and now there is no possible way for me to put in my brand new 1GB stick of RAM.

    I have never been this upset with Apple. Ever.
     
  2. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #2
    If you stripped the screws, it's because you used the wrong screwdriver.

    Take your MacBook to a local Apple shop. They should be able to drill out the screws and replace the panel.
     
  3. AlBDamned macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #3
    yeah - I think this actually your fault, not Apple's. How about renaming the thread "This screwdriver has pissed me off so bad!" :p
     
  4. smokeyboi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    #4
    hey, the same exact thing happened to me and I used the proper #00 phillips screwdriver! the screws on my MBP were so tight...I tried so hard to take the middle screw out that it ended up being worn out.

    here's the thread:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=187535

    iphil suggested that I take my MBP to an apple genius...I took his advice and voila...problem solved!
     
  5. korimickster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #5
    Actually, no. Apple suggested a #00 Phillips screwdriver so I ran up to the store to buy one. The exact kind they said to use.
     
  6. Paragon macrumors member

    Paragon

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    #6
    Don't some Apple Resellers (etc.) install RAM (etc.) for you?

    I would have thought that that would be the safer option, as that way, you have some form of cover :rolleyes:
     
  7. Whistleway macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    #7
    How nice of you all to ignore the issue at hand and say go to the store. bravo !
     
  8. Wags macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    #8
    I almost did on mine. I used the correct size screwdriver. I did notice that Apple had used a dab of glue on the screws. Apple's way of saying buy our ridiculously overpriced Korean ram or ruin your macbook.
     
  9. Laser47 macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #9
    If you have a razor blade with a tip (exacto knife) you can try using that to unscrew the stuck screws, that tip has helped me out of many stripped screw situations.
     
  10. SpAtZ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    NY
    #10
    I had no problems with it. I got the screwdriver that the manual said to use and it was 10x easier than changing the ibooks RAM.
     
  11. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #11
    What, exactly, do you think the issue at hand is?

    The OP has stripped screws. The only way to fix that without endangering your warranty is to consult with an Apple Store or an authorized Repair centre. Which is just what the first reply said and which smokeyboi confirmed worked for him.
     
  12. lamina macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #12

    I work at an educational reseller, and part of my job is putting extra RAM in customer's laptops. I have done about 5 so far, with no problem at all. It is the same procedure as upgrading a PowerBook 17".

    You need the right tools to do the job properly. A professional can remove the stripped screws for you.
     
  13. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    Maybe it's good that they're putting their screws in tighter now, what with all the missing and loosened screws in iBooks and Powerbooks. :)
     
  14. skillz1318 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    #14
    i was unable to unscrew mine with the tip of my swiss army knife...not hard at all...i guess yours could have been tighter though
     
  15. chosenwolf macrumors 6502a

    chosenwolf

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #15
    I know exactly what you mean. I don't even want to attempt adding a RAM stick after what happend with my iBook. They screw the screws in so tight it's nearly impossible to get them out with a screwdriver. I too went and bought the same screwdriver they recommended and still had an issue.

    I used a really really small/thin flathead to pull out the screws.
     
  16. YS2003 macrumors 68020

    YS2003

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    Finally I have arrived.....
    #16
    For my Macs (see sigs), I did RAM upgrade with #0 screw driver (one of those PC tool kit you can buy at Staples and other office supply stores). I have not even stripped the screws though. The trick is to use the high quality one (the kit cost at least $20) and put in the screw driver firmly onto the screw and turn couter-clockwise. I don't think Apple is doing something different on screws for Mac Book Pro from what they did with PC and iBook (if they did, I would be disappointed as they could have spend that R&D money on more meaningful features).
     
  17. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #17
    Then you fail at using a screwdriver.
     
  18. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #18
    Memory is a customer self upgrade so the stripped screws should be fixed by Apple gratis.

    When I called Applecare because I was scared out of my mind at the thought, the horror, of upgrading memory on my old Tibook 400, still under warranty at the time of the phone call, I broke off the internal plastic holders out of sheer fright and amatuerishness.

    Apple kindly replaced the whole logic board for me, because they could not repair the little plastic memory holders, and it was a customer serviable part or upgrade, or some such language.

    I think they will help you out here.
     
  19. dornoforpyros macrumors 68040

    dornoforpyros

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #19

    BURN! haha, yeah I gotta agree, if you can't operate a screw driver this is hardly apples fault, I understand your frustrated but your blame is misplaced.
     
  20. Chupa Chupa macrumors G4

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #20
    Yes, I put 2 2GB sticks of RAM in my MBP. Very easy if you use common sense and recognize you need a eyeglass/jeweler's screwdriver (available at any drugstore) to get the job done. It took me all of 3 minutes to remove the cover, remove the old RAM, insert the new RAM, and reattach the cover. Not sure at all why you are crying here, or why you are blaming Apple, but I now realize why they use to use torx screws. You act like it's brain surgery. Don't blame Apple. Look inward.
     
  21. Gordy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #21
    I took less than a minute to do the ram upgrade on mine. Can't say the screws were a problem.

    Can't blaim apple for putting screws in firmly...
     
  22. mmmcheese macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #22
    I wouldn't jump all over him...some machines have tighter screws than others. Just because yours weren't tight, doesn't mean that his aren't either. When I got my iBook (3 years ago), I had a hell of a time getting one of the screws out. I have the right tools, but because the screw was so tight, and the handle of the #0 screw drivers are so thin, there was no good way of getting enough torque to turn the screw. There wasn't any glue or anything making it stick either. In the end I found that putting a lot of pressure on the screw (more than seemed safe) and twisting it made it come loose.

    That said, you usually can't damage the head to the point where it will be unusable with 1 turn...if it starts to show a bit of damage, stop and re-asses the situation. You may just have to swallow your pride and get a shop to take them out.
     
  23. ieani macrumors 6502a

    ieani

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Location:
    the states for now
  24. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #24
    yeah, same, that's always what i use for small screws and it hasn't failed yet.
     
  25. sam10685 macrumors 68000

    sam10685

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #25
    remember this when unscrewing or screwing a screw... "righty tighty, lefty loosey."
     

Share This Page