Putting the iMac G5 to Sleep

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Cooknn, Oct 14, 2004.

  1. Cooknn
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #1
    I set up a new iMac G5 for a friend last night, but forgot to show her how to put it to sleep rather than turning it off (she came from a PC). Is there something on the front of the display to touch? I was so preoccupied with getting her songs into iTunes I spaced a major issue. BTW - it's very possible she already figured it out - I would just like to know :eek:
     
  2. edesignuk
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    I don't have a Mac in front of me, but IIR it's just Apple Logo (in menu) > Sleep isn't it?
     
  3. Cooknn
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #3
    Sure, that would be the menu driven way. I'm thinking there is a touch sensitive button on the lower right portion of the display as it was with the older displays. I just forgot to look...
     
  4. iJoe
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #4
    It's not touch sensitive, sadly. :( (god knows why not... seems like a step backwards to me)
     
  5. munkle
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    munkle

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    On a jet plane
    #5
    You can press the raised power button at the back to put the iMac to sleep, if you don't want to do it via the menu bar.
     
  6. Cooknn
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #6
    Thanks. I figured if it wasn't on the front - that's what she'd have to do.
     

Share This Page