Qs to freelance technical consultants

Discussion in 'Community' started by iShater, Jul 1, 2005.

1. iShater macrumors 604

iShater

Hi folks,

I got an opportunity to help a small business setup their office network and their systems.

It will involve setting up Windows systems, router, and possibly more. (I was gonna try to get them to go Mac :D )

I have never done this before (for money, for a small business), so I was wondering if anybody else has, and if so, what general advice they had.

In addition I am looking for info/advice about:
    - Tax implications.
    - Business expenses.
    - Contracts.
    - Pay rate.

Thanks!

2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

CanadaRAM

I don't know about tax implications in your state. What money you make will be declarable as personal self employed income. Usually you are able to deduct from that expenses that you incurred to make that income. Keep all receipts - parking, gas, tools, parts and supplies. As a contractor you may be required to carry your own workers compensation coverage, third party liability and /or professional liability insurance (depending on your local regulations). A business policy that covers IT errors and omissions here runs about $3,000 per year. Factor this into your pricing if you are requried to carry it. You may also have to register with your city with a business license. You probably don't have to register to collect and remit sales tax unless you are over a certain size in terms of annual billings. Consult an accounting professional.

Assuming you are not going to be an employee, you need a contract that spells out exactly what your responsibilities are, and how you are being paid. There is a world of difference between "I will set up your server for $500" and "I will set up your server for $40 per hour"

If you quote a fixed price, it makes you liable for finishing the job, no matter how long it takes and how many foul-ups (both yours and those outside your control) happen.