QT 6 ... soon?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Rower_CPU, May 1, 2002.

  1. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1
    It's definitely out there...I installed a "prerelease" on my TiBook, recklessly risking life and limb (or at least my HD). Below are pix:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Rower_CPU thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    About Quicktime:
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Rower_CPU thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #3
    Saving as MPEG4 Video:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Rower_CPU thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #4
    Saving to MPEG4 AAC audio:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #5
    Nice. Must have been a bitch to find that! ;)

    Is the MPEG 4 the only new feature? What are your thoughts on it?
     
  6. Megaquad macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    #6
    i also have some beta version of quicktime 6 but i cannot export using mpeg 4/aac,and there almost aren't any advanced options for exporting..
    speed in os x is much improved,on my G3 350 MHz it launches with one maybe 2 bounces,unfortunately seeking is terribly slow.. (on 200 mb+ movies)
    mpeg movies work better now
    this is my wish list:
    -mp3 soundtrack support (it works with some movies and newest 3ivx but it's still bad
    -wma soundtrack support
    -fast movie opening
    -fast seeking (like on windows)
    -advanced export options and support
     
  7. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #7
    I'm glad I ain't the only one who has tried it
    :D
    I like the update
     
  8. Geert macrumors 6502a

    Geert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2001
    Location:
    .be
    #8
    anybody sticking with this beta, or changed back to 5?
    And if you're sticking with beta, where would I find it, I would like to test it also :D
     
  9. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #9
    Go for it hasn't crashed yet
    As for going back to 5 you will have to reinstall the OS because there is no installer for QT5 on OS X
     
  10. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #10
    Looks good, I'll have to wait for the official upgrade, since I'm using FCP and it would not be supported.

    Can you create mpeg-4 files? How do they look compared to the Sorensen?
     
  11. Megaquad macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    #11
    you can find it on carracho server's!
     
  12. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #12
    I used HL to get it. The ;) was to Rower, 'cause I like to give him and others illegal apps. Spread the wealth, I always say.
     
  13. Geert macrumors 6502a

    Geert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2001
    Location:
    .be
    #13
    Thxs for the info guys, But is it worth on overwriting a QT5-pro with the QT6 beta?
    that scares me a bit. And I do not intend to install OS X all over again, because the beta is missing features, or not working properly.
     
  14. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #14
    Just wait 'till the release comes out. This QT 6 is a developers version and is not intended as a replacement for a final-release pro version.

    QT 6 will come out soon enough. I just got it to fool around and see what Apple's comin' up with. You're right, it is scary. It could wipe your hard drive! I guess that's half the fun. :D
     
  15. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #15
    being that QT6 is supposedly finished, yet everyone has betas, I must ask Rower. Do you have the final version thats just a prerelease or is it a beta?
     
  16. Rower_CPU thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #16
    sparkley-
    According to the splash screens when installing it, it's still a "pre-release"...so technically it's a beta.

    But from what I've been able to see, a fully functioning one.
     

Share This Page